Lunch #3 @ CHARCUT Roast House – Calgary, AB

I’ve been so impressed with the Lunch All At Once $15 Set Menu at CHARCUT on my previous visits (Lunch #1 and Lunch #2) that I wanted to go back to try other items.  It’s almost a given that I will get to try new items on each visit as the set menus at lunch changes daily.

When I went earlier this week, the Daily Soup was a chilled roasted beet soup served with a dollop of goat cheese on top of a crostini. The Daily Sandwich was the CHARCUT reuben and the Daily Rotisserie was the Italian-style porchetta.

I decided to stick with the $15 Set Menu as I was curious to try the CHARCUT reuben sandwich. The $15 Set Menu came with a bowl of the Daily Soup. I was really impressed with the chilled roasted beet soup as I wasn’t sure what to expect at first. The soup was silky and smooth and I could definitely taste beet flavour permeating throughout.  The dollop of goat cheese on the crostini really complemented the soup well.  The CHARCUT reuben was served on soft Foccacia bread instead of the traditional rye bread. The meat was thinly sliced and had a nice smokey flavour which I totally was not expecting.  I loved the sandwich! I think it’s great that CHARCUT put their own twist on the classic reuben and it had a gourmet taste to it. It’s too bad they don’t have this sandwich as part of their regular menu as I would want to order it again. The sandwich also came with a wedge of house made pickle. The pickle was crunchy and had great flavour.  It went nicely with the reuben sandwich. The parmesan fries were as good as always and were again served with the house made ketchup which we all loved.

One of my friends decided to go with the $25 Set Menu which consisted of the Daily Rotisserie  and included a side salad of Arugula and Hotchkiss Tomato. The salad was topped with crunchy fried onions and tossed in lemon olive oil. The porchetta was served Italian style. It was sliced thinly and served with a wedge of grilled lemon, a roasted garlic bulb, and some house made grainy mustard. I had a taste of the porchetta. Though the flavours were subtle, I was surprised at how tasty and flavourful it was. The meat was very tender and juicy. This was easily the best porchetta I’ve tasted thus far. In addition to the bag of cookies which is included in all the set lunches, the $25 set menu also included a cup of coffee to go. My friend commented that the coffee tasted really good as well.

The chocolate chunk cookies inside the brown bag were perfect again!  The outside of the cookie was crispy while the center was soft and chewy. This is exactly how I like my cookies – crispy on the outside and soft and chewy on the inside.

Overall, this was another great lunch at CHARCUT. I actually liked the reuben sandwich more than the bbq beef sandwich I had on my previous visits. Soup-wise, I think my favourite is still the clam chowder I had on my first visit.   Since the menu changes daily, every visit to CHARCUT is like a new adventure.  I’m already plotting my next visit as I’m curious as to what other yummy creations they have in store.

CHARCUT Roast House
#101, 899 Centre Street SW
Calgary, AB
(403) 984-2180

http://www.charcut.com

This entry was posted in Alberta, American, Calgary, eat, Lunch and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Lunch #3 @ CHARCUT Roast House – Calgary, AB

  1. Pingback: His Take: The Best (And Cheapest) Set Menu Lunch in Calgary | coupleofyuppies

  2. Pingback: His Take: The Best (And Cheapest) Set Menu Lunch in Calgary | Couple of Yuppies

Leave a Reply

