Breakfast for Dinner @ The Red Wagon Cafe – Vancouver, BC

I tried The Red Wagon Cafe for the first time when I was visiting Vancouver last fall. When we went for brunch, my friend and I tried the Crisp Pork Belly and the famous Pulled Pork Pancakes. I loved both the pancakes and the crispy pork belly. Hence, I wanted to go back again while visiting Vancouver earlier this month. Instead of going for brunch, I decided to try going to The Red Wagon for supper instead. Initially, we weren’t sure how busy it was going to be for supper since it was crazy busy when we went for brunch the first time. To my pleasant surprise on this weekday evening, it wasn’t very busy at all and we managed to get seated right away.

Though not available on the weekend Brunch menu, I discovered that on both the weekday Breakfast menu and the All-Day menu, there was an item called Super Trucker Breakfast ($14.50). Basically, this item is pretty much a combination of two dishes that I had tried previously – the Crisp Pork Belly and the famous Pulled Pork Pancakes. This is the perfect breakfast combo if you can’t decide between the two dishes as you get the best of both worlds.  The Super Trucker came with 2 eggs done any style, 2 pulled pork pancakes, a thick rasher of crisp pork belly, homefries, and a choice of toast. I won’t lie… this combo is A LOT of food.  You basically get everything from the normal Crisp Pork Belly breakfast minus the griddled tomatoes, salsa verde and hollandaise. As well, instead of the full order Pulled Pork Pancakes which comes with three pancakes, this Super Trucker comes with two. My friend C and I ended up sharing this combo and it was plenty of food for the both of us. I was impressed that everything tasted as good as we had remembered it to taste. The buttermilk pancakes were fluffy and thick while the savoury pulled pork in the center was flavourful and moist. The pork belly confit was slightly crispy, well-seasoned, flavourful, and just melted in our mouths. It was the perfect bite of porky goodness! I was even impressed with the homefries as they were slightly crispy, well-seasoned, and really flavourful. Normally, I don’t have much of a sweet tooth but the housemade raspberry jam that came with our toast was delish and I couldn’t get enough of it.

Now that I know I can get the same great food at dinner but without the crazy line ups, whenever I’m craving crispy pork belly and pulled pork pancakes, I’ll be heading there for dinner instead. Since the restaurant was relatively quiet, we enjoyed a leisurely dinner without the brunch time craziness.

The Red Wagon Cafe
2296 East Hastings Street
Vancouver, BC
(604) 568-4565

http://www.redwagoncafe.com

This entry was posted in American, British Columbia, Dinner, eat, Vancouver and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Breakfast for Dinner @ The Red Wagon Cafe – Vancouver, BC

  1. Nanook says:

    OMG, get out of town!!! I’m so there! Coming to Vancouver next week, eating there as soon as possible!!!!! Thanks for the review!!!

Leave a Reply

