Dinner @ Shikiji Japanese Noodles & Sushi – Calgary, AB

I went to Shikiji with a friend for an impromptu dinner a couple of weeks ago. On this visit, I decided to deviate from the norm and try other items on the menu. Normally, I’m addicted to Shikiji’s Chili Goma Ramen and 99% of the time, I can’t imagine going to Shikiji without order this dish.

But since my dining companion is on a gluten-free diet, she wouldn’t be able to have any ramen or udon. Hence, it was the perfect opportunity for me to try their soba. We decided to share an order of the Shikiji Soba ($16.95) so that we would have tummy space to try other menu items. Usually, this dish can either be made with either udon or soba noodles and can either be served hot or cold. We chose to have the hot version of the soba. The bed of soba noodles was topped with wild “sansai” vegetables, tempura shrimp, green onions, fried egg “chiffonade” (thin egg ribbons), fried bean curd and garnished with shredded nori. The noodles were served with a side of warm “ten-tsuyu” sauce along with a raw quail egg and some wasabi. The dish normally comes topped with crunchy tempura croutons too but we told them to omit them as we didn’t want to have too much fried stuff that would become greasy and soggy anyways once we pour in the sauce. We poured the warm “ten-tsuyu” sauce into the bowl of noodles and mixed the raw egg into the dish of wasabi. This was my first time trying this dish and I really enjoyed it. It is a much lighter option than the Chili Goma Ramen. I liked the contrasting textures and flavours of the various components of this dish. I could totally see myself ordering the cold version of this dish on a warm summer’s day instead of the Chili Goma Ramen.

Next we ordered 2 pieces each of Saba (Mackerel) Sashimi ($2.20 each) and Hamachi (Yellowtail) Sashimi ($3.25 each). Both the saba and hamachi were really fresh and tasty.

We also tried the Salmon Mango Roll ($12 for 8 pieces). The roll contained salmon, mango, avocado, cucumber, and tobiko. I really enjoyed this roll as the flavours tasted really clean and fresh.

Last, but not least, we had an order of the Negitoro Roll ($5.50 for 6 pieces). As a classic negitoro roll, it was filled with a mixture of chopped belly of tuna and green onion

Overall, I enjoyed our meal at Shikiji and I’m glad I had the opportunity to try some of their other menu items. I really enjoyed the Shikiji Soba. The sushi items tasted fine but I still think their strength is in their noodle dishes.

Shikiji Japanese Noodles and Sushi
1608 Centre St N
Calgary, AB
(403) 520-0093

http://www.shikiji.ca

This entry was posted in Alberta, Calgary, Dinner, eat, Japanese and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

