Tacofino Commissary – Vancouver, BC

It’s no secret that I’m a huge fan of fish tacos, especially the ones from the Tacofino Food Truck in Vancouver. When I learnt that the owners of the Tacofino food truck decided to open a bricks & mortar location, I was super excited. Tacofino Commissary is located in the spot that used to be home to the now defunct Seri Malaysia on East Hastings just west of Nanaimo Street. Tacofino Commissary is now open seven days a week. In addition to being open for dinner from Mondays to Saturdays, they now also serve lunch on weekdays as well as brunch on weekends.

When I was visiting Vancouver back in September, my friend C and I went to Tacofino Commissary on a Saturday night. The place is hugely popular and we waited about a half hour for a table.  I really like the decor of the Commissary. It reminds me a lot of the restaurants that I’ve tried in Portland, Oregon. It is casual yet funky.

To start, my friend C and I shared an order of the Poke Tostada ($9), which consisted of a fried tortilla topped with albacore tuna marinated in soy along with sesame, wakame, and beer hazelnuts. It was delicious and a great way to start off our meal! I really enjoyed the combination of flavours and textures – the crispy fried tortilla, the crunchy hazelnuts, the chewy wakame against the flavourful albacore tuna chunks. I definitely would order this again on my next visit.

Then my friend C and I each had a Fish Taco ($5), which consisted of crispy fried ling cod on a flour tortilla that was topped with cabbage, salsa fresca, and some chipotle mayo. This fish taco was as good as I remembered it to be from their food truck. I liked the brightness of flavours in the salsa fresca against the light and crispy tempura crust on the ling cod. The creamy chipotle mayo helped to balance things out. To me, these Fish Tacos at Tacofino are the best fish tacos I’ve tasted so far here in Canada.

We each also tried a Pork Jowl Taco ($6 each), which was topped with crispy pork jowl pieces, cabbage and pineapple slaw, along with some fried shallot and sriracha. I had high hopes for this taco since I loved the flavourful pork jowl (Toroniku) slices at Ramen Santouka and it’s basically the same cut of meat but just prepared differently. I expected the pork jowl pieces to be melt-in-your-mouth tender. Unfortunately, there were a couple of pieces in the taco that were actually quite dry and chewy. For the pieces that were actually tender, they were perfect! They were crispy on the outside but yet melt-in-your-mouth tender when I bit into it. If the entire taco had pieces that were crispy on the outside yet melt-in-your-mouth tender on the inside, this Pork Jowl  taco would have been a winner. Unfortunately, the dry, chewy pieces really detracted from it even though the flavours were spot on.

Overall, though, this was a solid meal at Tacofino Commissary.  I was happy that the food at the Commissary is as good as the items I tried from their food truck. This is definitely a place I will keep on going back to every time I visit Vancouver.

Tacofino Commissary
2327 E Hastings Street
Vancouver, BC
(604)253-TACO

http://tacofino.com

This entry was posted in British Columbia, eat, Mexican, Vancouver and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Tacofino Commissary – Vancouver, BC

  1. Nanook says:

    I CAN’T WAIT TO TRY TACOFINO!!!!! Coming from Los Angeles, I’ve been dying for good fish tacos in Vancouver!!!! They look mighty tasty!!!!

Leave a Reply

