Abruzzo Ristorante – Calgary, AB

It’s been years since I’ve been to Abruzzo’s.  I remember them serving up a really tasty tiramisu.  When my friends asked me to choose a place for a belated birthday dinner, I decided this was the perfect opportunity to go revisit Abruzzo’s.

We were each given a piece of complimentary house made bruschetta to start. It was easily one of the best tasting bruschetta that I’ve had. The tomatoes were fresh and the bruschetta had a nice garlic flavour without being overpowering.

For appetizers, we had Antipasto Abruzzo ($14.95) and the Tomato Salad ($7.95). The Antipasto Abruzzo consisted of cantaloupe wedges, prosciutto, capicollo ham, salami, marinated artichokes, tomato slices, and bocconcini cheese.  The prosciutto and the cantaloupe wedges really went well together.  The sweetness of the cantaloupe was nicely balanced by the flavours of the slightly salty prosciutto.  The Tomato Salad consisted of tomatoes, basil, black pepper and onions on a bed of lettuce with house made vinaigrette dressing. The salad was well-seasoned but was rather pedestrian.

Two of my friends ordered the Cannelloni ($17.95) which was stuffed with veal and vegetables and baked in a tomato, bechamel sauce.  I had a taste of the Cannelloni. The sauce was rich and flavourful. As for the ground veal, I wasn’t expecting it to be ground up so finely that it was practically minced. Not that there is necessarily anything wrong with this style of preparation, I just wasn’t expecting it so it kind of caught me by surprise. My other friend ordered the Fettuccini Alfredo ($16.95) which consisted of fettuccini in a cream sauce with parmigiano cheese.  The cream sauce for the Fettuccini Alfredo was very tasty and rich. I could taste the freshness and flavour of the cream.  Personally, I wouldn’t order this dish as it is too rich and heavy for me and I wouldn’t be able to eat more than a few bites. But I’m glad I got to taste it. It was certainly executed very well and one of the better versions of  Fettuccini Alfredo I’ve tasted. The fettuccini was cooked al dente.  If Fettuccini Alfredo is your thing, I’d definitely recommend checking this dish out at Abruzzo’s.

One of my other friends ordered the Calamari alla Genovese ($21.95) which consisted of squid prepared with a white wine sauce, garlic, spice and a touch of tomato sauce. It was served with steamed vegetables and pasta of the day. I had a taste of the calamari. I really enjoyed the flavourful sauce but I found the calamari to be surprisingly chewy.  Unfortunately, I also found cartilage bits in the couple of rings that I sampled.  For my entrée, I ordered the Linguini alle Vongole ($16.95) which was linguini with baby clams and garlic prepared in either a white wine sauce or light tomato sauce. I chose the white wine sauce based on our server’s recommendation.  I was served a heaping pile of linguini that was cooked al dente and the clams were very tender. I was actually surprised at how big the portion size was for my dish. By the time I was done, I had barely made a dent in the dish. I was glad that the sauce for my pasta was light.  My only small complaint was that the dish was a little on the bland side.

For dessert, we had the house made Tiramisu ($8.50). While the presentation was not necessarily the most appealing, the tiramisu was just as tasty as I had remembered it to be.  It was very creamy and had strong flavours of coffee. The sponge was soft and flavourful. I really enjoyed the Tiramisu and would definitely order it again on my next visit to Abruzzo’s.

 Overall, I enjoyed our experience at Abruzzo’s. The service was excellent. Our server was friendly and attentive. Some dishes were better than others. I think the standouts were definitely the bruschetta, the Fettuccini Alfredo, and the Tiramisu.

Abruzzo Ristorante
402 8 St SW
Calgary, AB
(403) 237-5660
http://www.abruzzoristorante.com

This entry was posted in Alberta, Calgary, Dinner, eat, Italian and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

