Lunch @ Rush Bar – Calgary, AB

My friend and I decided to check out Rush for lunch. We decided on the bar area instead of the main dining room mainly because we wanted a more casual  and relaxed atmosphere. For lunch, the menu is the same for both the bar and the main dining room.

My friend ordered the Pan Seared Salmon ($19) with pearl cous cous, sautéed calamari and red curry coconut. I had a taste of this dish and was really impressed with the execution. The salmon was cooked to perfection. It had a nice crispy crust on the outside. The sautéed calamari was surprisingly tender.  I would even go so far as to say it was probably the most tender calamari I’ve ever tasted. The pearl cous cous was al dente and flavourful from the red curry coconut sauce that had interesting citrus notes to it.

I ordered the Japanese Fried Chicken Salad ($16). The assorted baby greens were dressed in a light vinaigrette. There was a swirl of creamy garlic/ginger dressing for dipping the fried chicken pieces in. The fried chicken pieces were tender and well-seasoned with a light crispy batter.  I thought this salad was a success and I would definitely order this salad again if given the opportunity. I liked that the portion size was adequate enough to make a light lunch out of it.

Service-wise though, there is definitely some room for improvement. It took almost 25 minutes after we were seated before our server came by to take our order.  At that point we still did not know what the daily specials were as nobody had come by to let us know prior to that. Rush has 3 course set lunches for $25 (or $35 including a wine pairing) which included a salad or daily soup, a choice of either the daily roast or daily braised entrée, and a dessert. When I inquired about the daily specials, I was told by our server that the daily roast item was already sold out. I didn’t contemplate any further about whether I should order the set lunch and just decided to order a la carte as I didn’t want to take up any more time deciding since time was ticking by and we still had not put in our order.  Given the amount of time that elapsed already at the time our order was put in, I wasn’t hopeful that we would get our food in a timely manner.  Fortunately, our food came in a timely manner – approximately 15 minutes after our order was put in. In the end we finished our lunches and managed to get back to the office in reasonable time.

Based on the food that I tasted on this occasion, I would go back to Rush. While neither the salad nor the salmon ranks on the list of the best dishes I’ve ever had, both were very solid in execution and tasty.

Rush Restaurant
#100, 207 9 Ave SW
Calgary, AB

http://www.rushrestaurant.com/

This entry was posted in Alberta, American, Calgary, eat, Lunch and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

