Black Bear Diner – Tracy, CA

Black Bear Diner is a chain restaurant with almost 50 locations in the Western US.  My friend who lives in Tracy, California, raved about this place when it first opened there so I was curious to see what it was all about. At first, I didn’t even realize it was a chain restaurant with multiple locations.  I thought it was a mom and pop type of place as I had never come across the chain before.  When we arrived that Saturday morning, the place was packed. It took us a little while before we managed to get a table.

I ordered The Grizz ($10.49) which consisted of 2 of the house special sweet cream pancakes, 3 eggs, 2 sausage links, 2 pieces of bacon, and a ham steak with hash browns.  When my breakfast arrived, I couldn’t believe the portion size. It was easily enough food for two people.  The pancakes were tasty and certainly much better than Denny’s. The rest of the food was just ok though I did like the crispness of the hash browns.

My friend ordered the Egg Benedict ($9.49) which consisted of two poached eggs and sliced ham on top of an English muffin and covered in Hollandaise sauce.  This dish came with a choice of hash browns or country potatoes and fresh fruit. My friend chose the country potatoes for variety-sake as we were sharing both dishes. The Eggs Benny was just ok. There was nothing really gourmet about it and I’ve definitely had better tasting Hollandaise before. There was nothing special about the country potatoes either.

Between the two of us, we barely managed to make a dent in the food. The one thing I can say about Black Bear Diner is that it is great value for the money considering the gigantic portion sizes. It is definitely a step-up from Denny’s and I’d chose Black Bear over Denny’s any day. Having said that, I’m not sure I’d rush to go back to Black Bear as I prefer small mom and pop places serving up gourmet breakfast fare rather than places serving up just sheer volume. At least I can say that I’ve tried Black Bear Diner now and I know what it’s all about.  If you’re extra hungry and going after sheer volume, this is the place to go.

Black Bear Diner
2351 Toste Rd
Tracy, CA 95377
(209) 835-5600

http://www.blackbeardiner.com

This entry was posted in American, Breakfast/Brunch, California, eat, Tracy and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Black Bear Diner – Tracy, CA

  1. marge wiley says:

    Egg Benedict I had today were the worst I have ever had. Did not eat all of my breakfast and after four times of visiting the Black Bear Diner, I am done with thinking that it will improve next time.
    Service is great, prices are fair but the food leaves something to be desired !
    Quantity is one thing but should have quality as well.

    • miss.foodie says:

      I agree. Quality to me is a lot more important than quantity. I did think that Black Bear was a step up from Denny’s as I’m not a fan of Denny’s at all. However, I didn’t think that the food at Black Bear’s was stellar by any stretch. It’s geared towards people who care more about quantity. As I said in my post, I won’t be rushing to go back there any time soon.

  2. Adam Balcunas says:

    I ordered the eggs benedict and had the same result. The eggs yolks were rock hard, muffins not toasted, and the potatos not cooked. Took the time to talk to the management. Next time I stopped by the only difference was the potatos were cooked. Stopped by another time and ordered the tri tip dinner. It was like a piece of shoe leather. I can’t believe I actually miss the Orchard Resturant.

  3. Adam Balcunas says:

    Quick comment here. When I said “I can’t believe I actually miss the Orchard Resturant.”, I meant in their hay day. After all I’ve been going off and on since the age of three and the last year or two was bad for them. My wife and I tried Black Bear again, ordering the eggs benedict not saying a word of our past experience. They cooked it perfect, everything. I heard at one time they actually had to fire the whole cook staff. We’ll see what happens next time. They’re known to be an exeptional restaurant chain.

Leave a Reply

