Ramen Santouka – San Jose, CA

Ramen Santouka is a famous Japanese Ramen chain. They have multiple locations in Japan as well as some locations in Hong Kong, Singapore, United States, and Canada. Funny enough, despite my frequent trips to Vancouver, British Columbia, I still not have had a chance to make it the Ramen Santouka  location in Vancouver yet.  So this visit to the shop in San Jose was my first to a Santouka location.  The Santouka location in San Jose is inside the Japanese grocery store, MITSUWA Market Place, like the rest of the other Santouka US locations.

I happen to go shortly before closing time so my choices were limited as they had sold out of the ramen set with the ikura over rice which my friend really likes and also the Toroniku (special pork) ramen which I was hoping to try.  We ended up getting bowls of the Extra Pork Soy Sauce Flavour Ramen (#14 Regular Size was $9.45 and #15 Small Size was $8.45).

Normally, I’m not a huge fan of ramen based on the ones I’d tried in the past at various other places. However, this bowl of ramen at Santouka really impressed me.  I loved the depth of flavour in the Shoyu (Soy Sauce) broth. The Shoyu broth is made from a combination of pork broth and soy sauce.  The noodles are cooked perfectly and topped with dried seaweed, bamboo shoots (menma), and cha-su roast pork.  I really enjoyed the complexity of the flavours and texture combination.  I’m really looking forward to going back to Santouka to try other items, especially the special pork jowl (Toroniku) ramen.

Ramen Santouka San Jose
Mitsuwa Marketplace
675 Saratoga Ave
San Jose, CA 95129
(408) 446-1101

http://www.santouka.co.jp

This entry was posted in California, Dinner, eat, Japanese, Lunch, San Jose and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

