Lunch #2 @ CHARCUT Roast House – Calgary, AB

After being so impressed with the Lunch All At Once $15 Set Menu at CHARCUT (Lunch #1) a couple of weeks ago, I decided to go back for another visit last as I was hoping to try other items since the Set Lunch menu changes daily.

When I went last week, the Lunch All At Once Set Menu for $15 happened to feature BBQ Beef again as the Daily Sandwich. This time instead of clam chowder, the Daily Soup was roasted garlic and hazelnut soup.  I would have tried the $25 Set Lunch instead except that the Daily Rotisserie was roast turkey thigh that day and I’m not a huge fan of turkey. So I decided to stick with the $15 Set Menu again as I was curious what the roasted garlic and hazelnut soup would be like. My friends decided on the $15 Set Menu as well as they weren’t fans of turkey either.

While my friends who had never eaten at CHARCUT before until that day loved the soup, I thought that the clam chowder I had as part of the $15 Lunch All At Once on my previous visit was much better than the roasted garlic and hazelnut soup.  The roasted garlic soup was very mild in garlic flavour and I could barely taste the hazelnuts. The creamy soup was topped with some orange zest which gave it an interesting twist.  Overall, it wasn’t a bad soup. It just wasn’t as impressive as the clam chowder I had previously. The parmesan fries were as good as before and my friends loved the house-made ketchup. The BBQ Beef sandwich was as tasty as before. The beef was tender and flavourful and the Focaccia bread was fresh and soft. The pickled carrot again was crunchy and had a nice balance of acidity.

The chocolate chunk cookies inside the brown bag were perfect this time!  I like my cookies crispy on the outside and soft and chewy on the inside. These cookies were freshly baked and still warm we they were served to us. The outside of the cookie was crispy while the center was soft and chewy. The chocolate melted in our mouths. This was the perfect ending to our delicious lunch!

On this visit, we also had a pleasant surprise at the end of our lunch. Connie DeSousa, the co-executive chef and co-owner of CHARCUT came around to each table and inquired how the food was.  I was thrilled to meet her. I was amazed at how down-to-earth and humble she is considering her impressive resumé and background. She just introduced herself as “Connie, one of the chefs”.  She never mentioned that she was the co-executive chef, the co-owner, nor that she was on Top Chef Canada. 

I can’t wait to go back to CHARCUT again. Hopefully, there will be a different Daily Soup, Daily Sandwich or Daily Rotisserie for me to try.

CHARCUT Roast House
#101, 899 Centre Street SW
Calgary, AB
(403) 984-2180

http://www.charcut.com

This entry was posted in Alberta, American, Calgary, eat, Lunch and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

