Pizzeria Delfina – San Francisco, CA

I finally made it out to original Pizzeria Delfina location in the Mission District two weeks ago on my recent trip to San Francisco. Pizzeria Delfina has been on my list to try for a while as it is known to be one of the best pizzerias in North America. Pizzeria Delfina serves up Naples meets New York-inspired thin crust pizzas.

For starters, we ordered the Mozzarella in Carrozza ($7). It consisted of deep-fried bread and mozzarella and was topped with melted butter and anchovies. While it sounded really good on paper, I didn’t love the actual taste of the dish. The mozzarella chunks tasted rather bland. We tried to coat the fried cheese pieces as best we could with the anchovy butter in order to get some flavour. The anchovy butter made the dish rather oily and heavy. I’m glad I tried it but I wouldn’t be ordering this dish again.

We shared the Prosciutto Pie ($17) which was topped with Prosciutto di Parma, mozzarella, panna, and arugula. This pizza definitely ranks as one of the best thin crust pizzas I’ve ever had. Despite not having a wood burning oven, the crust was really good. It was slightly crispy in the center and chewy on the blistery edges. I was so impressed by how light and thin the crust was.  The Prosciutto di Parma was thinly shaved and added the right amount of saltiness to the pizza without being overly salty. The arugula atop the pizza was tossed in olive oil and added the right amount of pepperiness to the pizza.

Overall, I really liked how light, fresh-tasting, and non-greasy the pizza was.  I wasn’t fond of the appetizer and would skip it next time to leave more tummy room for the pizza.  I could see why Pizzeria Delfina is ranked as one of the best pizzerias in North America.  I think I like it even more than both Apizza Scholls and Ken’s Artisan Pizza in Portland, Oregon. I can’t wait to go back to Pizzeria Delfina again on my next trip to San Francisco.

Pizzeria Delfina
3611 18th Street
San Francisco, CA 94110
(415) 437-6800

http://pizzeriadelfina.com

This entry was posted in California, Dinner, eat, Italian, Lunch, Pizza, San Francisco and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

