Gussie’s Chicken & Waffles – San Francisco, CA

I had read a lot of good things about Gussie’s Chicken & Waffles. When I was in San Francisco last month, I was craving good southern fried chicken and decided to give Gussie’s a try.  When we first arrived, it was around 11am and the restaurant was fairly empty.  At first, I wasn’t sure what to think as it’s never a good sign when the restaurant looks empty.  Interestingly though, as we were finishing up our meal, it was around noon and the whole place had filled up.

Gussie’s has an extensive menu which includes breakfast items, southern specialties, soups, salads, sandwiches, and even a whole page dedicated to Chicken & Waffles.  In addition, they were offering a All-You-Can-Eat-Buffet for $10 per person, every weekday from 11am to 3pm. I decided not to go for the buffet as I really wanted to try their waffles and there were no waffles offered as part of the buffet. Also, I’m typically not a huge fan of buffets as I don’t eat very much to make it worthwhile so I’d rather have my food freshly cooked to order instead.

Knowing that portion sizes are typically very large at places serving Southern food, I ordered one of the smallest meals I could find on the chicken & waffles menu, the Uptown Special ($9.29). It consisted of one southern fried chicken breast and one original waffle. I asked to substitute the original waffle with a sweet potato waffle.  The sweet potato waffle was just ok. It was crispy but very thin. I could taste the sweet potato in the waffle but I liked the version from Screen Door Restaurant in Portland, Oregon much better. The fried chicken breast was meh. The meat was juicy enough but overall, the batter and the chicken didn’t have much flavour. In fact, I’d go so far as to say that I like the spicy fried chicken at Popeyes better. That certainly doesn’t say much about a place that is known for their fried chicken & waffles when I actually thought the chicken from a fast food chain tastes better.

My friend ordered the Fillmore Classic ($10.79). It consisted of 3 crispy chicken wings, 1 original waffle, and 2 eggs any style. Again, the chicken wings were meh. They were crispy but not flavourful and certainly not memorable.  At least, they weren’t greasy.

My friend’s SO decided to try the buffet.  He found a few items that he really liked, namely the gumbo and the jerk chicken. In fact, after trying the fried chicken, he said that the jerk chicken actually tasted much better.

Overall, I was a bit disappointed with Gussie’s. I was really hoping for some memorable tasty southern fried chicken and waffles. I just didn’t get why so many people recommended it. With the infinite number of restaurants in San Francisco to choose from and what little time I usually have on each visit, I probably won’t bother to go back to Gussie’s.

Gussie’s Chicken & Waffles
1521 Eddy St (@Fillmore)
San Francisco, CA 94115
(415) 409-2529

http://www.gussieschickenandwaffles.com

This entry was posted in American, Breakfast/Brunch, California, Cuisine, eat, Lunch, San Francisco and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

