Omakase #3 @ Sushi Kimura – Vancouver, BC

UPDATE: As of May 1, 2012, Sushi Kimura has been sold and Kimura-san is no longer the chef there.

When I was visiting Vancouver at the end of May, I happen to have a spare slot in my dining schedule. I debated about whether to try a new place or go back to re-visit one of my favourites. It didn’t take long for me to figure out that I wanted to go back to Sushi Kimura for omakase even though I had already been earlier that week. I wanted another dose of Kimura-san’s omakase as I knew it would be several months before I’d have the opportunity to be back in Vancouver again.

On this visit, we started off with Spinach Goma-Ae, which consisted of boiled spinach topped with sesame seeds. The spinach goma-ae was very lightly seasoned.

Next up was a Trio of Sashimi consisting of hamachi toro, red tuna, and hamachi. The hamachi toro (belly of hamachi) was delicious!  It was my favourite out of the three. All of the sashimi were very fresh with a glistening sheen.

Our third course was interesting. It consisted of two slices of a roulade of Tako (octopus) stuffed with Tamago (sweetened omelet). This was a very unusual presentation as I’d never tasted the tako-tamago combination before. As well, the dish contained two pieces each of scallop and hirame sashimi. The sashimi were topped with a thick slightly sweet soy based sauce.

Our next course was Sansai Tempura (tempura consisting of Mountain Vegetables). There were two different types of sansai tempura – the warabi and the seri. The tempura was served sauce-less and very plainly with just a bit of ground pepper so we could taste the natural flavours of the mountain vegetables.

As we inquired about what the mountain vegetables were, Kimura-san was kind enough to show us what the raw versions of the vegetables looked like. The warabi are young fiddleheads of braken. The seri is also known as Japanese parsley or Chinese celery. Both had an interesting flavour. I’d never tasted either before so this was an interesting experience for me. Neither had a very strong or bitter flavour.

For the fifth course, we had Chutoro Tataki. The chutoro was melt-in-your-mouth tender. The tataki was topped with radish sprouts, a touch of anchovy paste and a slight sweet balsamic sauce. The presentation of this tataki was totally different from the version I had earlier on that week during my other dinner at Sushi Kimura. I liked crispness of the radish sprouts as it added texture to the dish.

Our next course was the Kobe Beef Yakiniku. This version of yakiniku was pan-fried instead of grilled. This was served with Japanese style fried rice with mushrooms and a dipping sauce. The beef pieces were somewhat tender. There were a couple of pieces on the chewy side. And surprisingly, most of the pieces were cooked all the way through.  But overall, I really enjoyed the flavour of the beef. Even though it was well marinated, I was surprised I could actually taste the beef flavour under the marinade. I just wish that the beef pieces would be a little less cooked.  Other than that, I thought the dish was pretty tasty.

We then finished off with some nigiri sushi – uni, tai, toro, and hamachi. The tai (red snapper) was topped with some chili. The toro, which was served on top of a shiso leaf, along with the hamachi were brushed with Kimura-san’s multipurpose sweetened soy sauce.

Before dessert, Kimura-san asked if we wanted some Miso Soup with Little Neck Clams. The miso soup was served steaming hot and contained a couple of tender little neck clams.

Again, we were given a choice of mango, green tea, or black sesame ice cream for dessert.  I chose black sesame again as it is my favourite.

What has amazed me so far about Sushi Kimura is that I’ve been there for omakase three times now and not a single dish has been repeated. I don’t know how Kimura-san manages to keep track of all the dishes that he creates and what his patrons have already tried.

Sushi Kimura
3883 Rupert Street
Vancouver, BC
(604) 569-2198

http://www.sushikimura.com

This entry was posted in British Columbia, Dinner, eat, Japanese, Vancouver and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Omakase #3 @ Sushi Kimura – Vancouver, BC

  1. Row says:

    I had omakase at Sushi Kimura a couple of months ago and it was amazing. One of the best dining experiences I have ever had. 🙂

  2. grayelf says:

    This is the only place I will eat tuna tataki, Kimura-san has such a light hand with it. But I must demur, those are kaiware or radish sprouts, my fave sprouty thing evah.

  3. Elsie says:

    oh my gosh! Look how fresh the seafood is in BC!!! I’m so jealous!!! Looks awesome! 🙂

    • miss.foodie says:

      Elsie, I definitely recommend you try out the omakase at Sushi Kimura if you are ever in Vancouver. The omakase starts at $30 per person. There are also $40 and $50 versions as well. I typically go for the $30 version (see the post for my first and second visits. I’m not sure how much this one with the kobe beef was as my friend treated me. Compared to what we spend here in Calgary for sushi, it is phenomenal value and quality for what you get for $30.

  4. shokutsu says:

    3 times, that’s commendable!

    • miss.foodie says:

      I’m sure it will be more than 3 visits. Sushi Kimura is on the list of places that I want to try to go to at least once every time I’m in town. I’m already planning out my eating schedule for my upcoming trips this fall. What has impressed me so far is that there have been no repeats in the omakase dishes yet.

Leave a Reply

