Alley Burger Food Truck – Calgary, AB

I’ve been wanting to try the infamous Alley Burger for several months now. I never did get the opportunity to go and line up for it in the alley behind CHARCUT when it first became popular. When I saw the tweet on a Saturday morning a week and a half ago that the Alley Burger Food Truck was going to be at the Prairie Regional Barista Competition at Fratello Coffee, I decided to head down there in hopes in to taste an Alley Burger for the first time. When I arrived around 12:45pm that afternoon, there were already about 100 people in line ahead of me. The line was not really moving as all the volunteers, judges, and personnel associated with the Barista Competition were being served first. I had anticipated that the official Food Trucks Launch the following week was going to be immensely popular and likely extra crowded so I thought my chances were better to wait it out here at this event instead.

I ended up waiting in line for over 2 hours and 45 minutes before it was my turn to order.  By then, they had sold out of the Original Alley Burger. I ended up ordering a small of The Whole Truck Burger ($6.49), which is made with 100% Angus beef. I asked for it with all the fixings (piri piri aioli, brassica mustard, lettuce, tomato, and pickles) except for jalapenos and onions. I also added cheese curds ($1).  Both the Original Alley Burger (pork) and The Whole Truck Burger (beef) come in two sizes – small (one patty) and regular (two patties). I thought the burger was quite tasty. The patty was crispy on the outside and juicy on the inside. I devoured it in no time. Next time though, I’d probably skip the lettuce and tomato and add bacon along with the cheese curds.

Luckily for me, I was able to try the fries as well. They were sold out of the fries/poutine as well shortly after I ordered. I got a small order ($3.95) of the fries which were deep fried in duck fat and “spiced your way“. The fries were served in a brown paper bag which was convenient for tossing the seasoning. There was a choice of six seasonings – Chipotle Bite, Smokey Bacon and Cheddar, Truffle S&P, Sea Salt, Curry in a Hurry, and Spicy Portuguese. I chose the Truffle Salt & Pepper. Though not really healthy for you, the fries themselves were really tasty and flavourful. I was impressed with how crispy they were.  I would say these fries tasted even better than the parmesan fries that come with the lunches at CHARCUT. I think the secret with these ones is that they are deep fried in duck fat so it makes them more flavourful. Personally, I didn’t care for the Truffle Salt & Pepper seasoning as I couldn’t taste any truffle at all. Next time, I’d probably go with a different seasoning or just plain sea salt.

Overall, I was really impressed with the quality of both The Whole Truck Burger and the fries. I would want to try the poutine next time as I’ve heard they use real cheese curds from Quebec. I would have tried the poutine this time except that by the time I got to order it was already approaching 3:30pm and I had early dinner plans for that evening. Was it worth the 2 hour and 45 minute wait?  YES, I would say it was worth the wait.  However, I’m not sure I would be willing to wait that long again. I’m really glad I got to try it. I really do want to try the Original Alley Burger, which has still eluded me.  But I think I’m going to wait for the hype to die down a little bit before attempting, as I don’t have time for multi-hour waits. In the meantime, if I’m craving a burger, I’d go back to CHARCUT for their signature burger, which is similar to their Alley Burger, for a couple of bucks more. But I know over the long run, it’s going to be those duck fat fries that are going to keep on drawing me back to the Alley Burger Food Truck.

 

Alley Burger Food Truck
@AlleyBurger

http://www.facebook.com/pages/Alley-Burger/204938409530215

This entry was posted in Alberta, American, Calgary, Dinner, eat, Late Night, Lunch, Snack and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Alley Burger Food Truck – Calgary, AB

  1. shokutsu says:

    Wow, you’re insanely patient! I could never had withstood all that waiting for almost three hours for *just* a hamburger. 🙂 Eating at the restaurant sounds like a saner option for those of us who hate standing in lineups… 🙂

    • miss.foodie says:

      I completely agree eating at the restaurant is a saner option for those who hate standing in lineups. In case you are wondering, they do serve a version of the duck fat fried poutine on the dinner menu at CHARCUT. Even though they don’t have an individual burger on the dinner menu, they have a “SHARE” burger at $2.50 per ounce (minimum 9 ounces). The individual-sized burger “CHARCUT style” on the lunch menu was pretty darn good. I loved the brioche bun. 🙂

      Also, had I known from the start that it was going to take almost three hours, I probably wouldn’t have waited either. I’m usually not *THAT* patient. However, after having sunk an hour plus into it and then realizing the line still hadn’t moved very much but gotten shorter as many people had left, I was at that point determined not to leave empty handed so I waited it out. 🙂

Leave a Reply

