Happy Hour @ Double Zero Pizza – Calgary, AB

A couple of weeks ago, my friend and I decided to check out Double Zero Pizza for Happy Hour. Double Zero is in the downstairs space that once was Tangerine Supper Club, across from Holt Renfrew. We had heard about that Happy Hour Specials which run 3pm to 6pm from Monday to Friday. The Happy Hour Specials consist of $5 for house wine, $5 for domestic beers on tap, and $5 appetizers. We ordered a couple of glasses of the house white for $5, which was the Giorgio & Gianni Pinot Grigio and shared a bunch of the Happy Hour appetizers.

First up were the Warm Olives ($5).  They were indeed served warm and I was surprised at how huge the portion was compared to the olives that I’ve had at other places. Taste-wise, the olives were just ok. I wish they were marinated in spices to give them more flavour as they all seem to taste the same even though there was a mix of different varieties. I found one of the varieties in the mix to be particularly salty. Overall, they just tasted really briny and were not very memorable.

Next up was the Speck & Focaccia ($5). It was served with some roasted tomato and onion beneath the thinly slices of speck. This dish was a big hit and my favourite of the evening. I loved the smokiness of the speck. The speck was delicately flavoured without being overly salty. I thought it paired really nicely with the tomato and onion. I’d definitely order this again on my next visit to Double Zero.

Because we had heard rave reviews about the Roasted Cauliflower ($5),  my friend and I were really looking forward to trying it even though we weren’t sure what to expect. The Roasted Cauliflower appetizer contained fried chick peas, sultana, sage, and pecorino cheese in addition to roasted cauliflower florets. Personally, I didn’t really get this dish and it was my least favourite out of all the ones we ordered. The roasted cauliflower florets were my favourite part of the dish as they were perfectly al dente. The fried chick peas were ok. The part I didn’t really care for was the cubes of pecorino. These diced cheese cubes were very dry and chewy. It seemed like they’d been roasted or fried. Initially, based on the texture alone, I didn’t even realize that these were cheese cubes. I thought they might have been fried tempeh. However, it was the saltiness and sharp flavour that made me realize it was actually cheese. I would have probably preferred the pecorino just grated on top as a garnish.

Lastly, we tried the Meatballs ($5). These “00” Meatballs were made from a house blend of pork and beef and topped with a tomato gravy. The order consisted of 3 decent-sized, tender meatballs. While they weren’t necessarily the most memorable meatballs I’ve ever eaten, they were decent considering the price. Even though there was no wow factor, I probably wouldn’t mind ordering them again on my next visit.

The appetizers ended up to be pretty filling. My friend and I had just enough room to share a pizza. We had our heart set on trying the Mushroom pizza. When I asked our server about the Mushroom pizza, she explained it contained a cultivated mushroom duxelle, which was like a cream base that contained mascarpone cheese.  I was actually very surprised as no where on the menu did it mention the duxelle containing mascarpone cheese.  Luckily, I inquired about it as my friend is lactose-intolerant so in the end we took a pass on the pizza.  Our server did inform us that they had lactose free cheese available and could substitute the cheese on most of the other pizzas with the lactose free cheese. Unfortunately, because the base of Mushroom pizza was the duxelle, they weren’t able to substitute that. I guess that means I’ll have to go back to Double Zero another time to check out their pizza. I am very curious to go back to check out the Mushroom pizza as none of the other pizza places here like UNA or WOP have a duxelle base on their mushroom pizza. Since I loved the speck so much at Double Zero, I would probably like to check out their Speck pizza as well.

 

Double Zero Pizza
751 4 Street SW
Calgary, AB
(403) 265-9559

http://doublezeropizza.ca

This entry was posted in Alberta, American, Calgary, eat, Snack and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

