The British Chippy – Calgary, AB

It had been awhile since I’d been back to The British Chippy for fish and chips. As the name suggests, this eatery specializes in traditional British-style fish and chips. The British Chippy is located in the community of Bridlewood, which is in the deep south of Calgary. I would go more often except I live in the opposite side of the city and it takes me almost an hour to get there.

My favourite item at The British Chippy is the Cod & Chips ($12.50).  An order consists of a 6 oz piece of cod fillet dipped in a homemade batter and fried to perfection. The chips are made from organic potatoes grown locally. I’ve been to The British Chippy about half a dozen times now since they opened a couple of years ago. I’ve found their food to be consistently delicious all the times that I’ve been. The cod is always fried to perfection and is moist and flaky. The fries are lightly golden and always toothsome. This visit was no exception. I like that everything is fried at the correct temperature so the food doesn’t taste greasy.

I was actually surprised at how quiet it was on a recent Friday during the noon hour. I arrived right when they opened at 11:30 and we were the first customers there. By the time we left around 1 pm the place was about half full. I remember it being a lot more busy during the lunch hours on my previous visits. I’m not sure why that’s the case as the food was as good as I remembered it to be. The service was good as well. Our server was friendly, prompt, and efficient. It’s too bad I live so far away. Otherwise, this would be my go to place for fish & chips.  Personally, I think this is one of the best places for fish & chips here in Calgary.

The British Chippy
2335 162 Avenue SW
Calgary AB
(403) 256-1156

http://www.thebritishchippy.com

This entry was posted in Alberta, British, Calgary, eat, Lunch and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

