Bross Sushi – Calgary, AB

Several months ago, my friend told me about this quaint little Japanese eatery in her neighbourhood. I finally got a chance to check it out a couple of weeks ago. Bross Sushi is located in a strip mall in the neighbourhood of Braeside in the south part of Calgary. This tiny eatery does mainly catering and take-out but also has some seating at the sushi bar and one table that seats 4 for dine-in.

For such a small eatery, Bross Sushi has quite the diverse menu with many izakaya items such as various types of kushiage, karaage, and tempura in addition to traditional nigiri sushi, sashimi, and rolls.

To start, both my friend and I each ordered a bowl of the Miso Soup ($2.00). I was actually impressed with how good the Miso Soup tasted. Unlike at many other places,  this version was not too salty and had a nice depth of flavour. I would actually say this is one of the better versions of Miso Soup that I’ve had here in Calgary and I wouldn’t hesitate to order it again.

We then tried an order of the Agedashi Tofu ($4.50). I would say this version was middle of the road. It’s not the best that I’ve ever had but also definitely not the worst. The batter was light and crispy and tofu was silky and soft. I just wish it came with a bit more of the warm Tentsuyu broth, which is comprised of dashi, mirin and soy sauce. The tofu cubes on their own are quite bland and need the broth to give it flavour.

Next up was a quarter order of Unagi Tempura ($5.00 for quarter; $9.75 for half; and $19.00 for full order).  When I saw this on the menu, I had to try it as I’ve never had Unagi tempura before. I loved the colorful presentation of this dish and was really surprised at this modern interpretation of tempura. Typically, I’ve had tempura served with a traditional Tentsuyu broth. This Unagi tempura was actually quite tasty. The tobiko along with the crunchy lettuce added a nice textural and flavour contrast to the dish.

From the sushi menu, I ordered two pieces of nigiri sushi – one Fatty Tuna ($2.50) and one Marinated Mackerel ($2.35). I was really impressed at how fresh the fish was, especially considering this is a neighbourhood take-out sushi joint. It was definitely much better than many take-out sushi places that I’ve tried. My friend and I shared an order of the Real Crab California Roll ($4.95). Both of us were a bit disappointed with this roll as the crab meat was quite dry and not as flavourful as we had expected. My friend who has actually tried the regular california roll at Bross Sushi previously said that she actually prefers the regular one better. We also shared an order of the B.R.O.S.S. Roll ($4.95 for one 4-piece roll). This roll consisted of beef teriyaki, red ginger, ooba leaf, shiitake mushroom, and sour cream.  Though I’m more of a traditionalist when it comes to sushi and rolls, I can appreciate this roll for what it is. It was indeed tasty and had a nice contrast of flavours. For those that are looking for a modern twist in a roll or don’t like raw fish, this would be the perfect roll to get.

We also ordered various kushiage items to sample. We ordered two skewers of Eggplant ($2.00 each), one skewer of Avocado ($2.00), one skewer of Yam ($2.00),  two skewers of Chicken ($2.00 each), and one skewer of Beef ($2.00).  We were given a choice of homemade sauces for the kushiage. We chose the Sweet Miso Sauce and the Kushiage Sauce. I really enjoyed the vegetable (eggplant, avocado, and yam) kushiage. These were skewers of crispy, golden perfection. The outer coating was light and crispy while the insides were toothsome. Of the three, my favourite was the avocado kushiage. We were less impressed with the chicken and beef kushiage. They seemed to have been in the fryer for a bit too long. The meat in both was dry and overcooked. The coating for the chicken and the beef was quite a bit heavier than for the vegetables. I’m not sure why that was the case but I’d probably stick with the vegetable kushiage on my next visit.

Though they are not licensed to serve alcohol, they do offer complimentary barley tea – both hot and cold versions, instead of the traditional green tea. Overall, I enjoyed my meal at Bross Sushi. I would go back for some of the more traditional items like miso soup and nigiri sushi as well as for the vegetable kushiage. For those that live nearby, this is a great little neighbourhood sushi joint to get your sushi fix if you don’t want to go too far. As a take-out sushi place, Bross Sushi is better than most take-out sushi joints I’ve tried here in Calgary.

 

Bross Sushi
#26, 11440 Braeside Drive SW
Calgary, AB
(403) 238-3770

http://www.brosscatering.com

This entry was posted in Alberta, Calgary, Dinner, eat, Japanese and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

