Visit #5 @ CHARCUT Roast House – Calgary, AB

It’s no secret that CHARCUT is one of my favourite places for lunch as this recent time was my fifth visit. What I like best is that the items for the lunch sets change daily.  This keeps things interesting and I look forward to finding out what their specials are on each visit. On most of my visits so far, there’s been very few repeats for their daily set lunches.

On this recent visit, I decided to go with the Lunch All At Once $15 Daily Soup and Daily Sandwich set menu again.  The Daily Soup was Jambalaya Soup and the Daily Sandwich was Smoked Pulled Pork. The Jambalaya Soup was delicious!  It had just the right amount of heat and was nicely balanced with the dollop of creme fraiche. I loved the complexity of the flavours and textures. Of all the soups that I’ve tried at CHARCUT as part of their daily lunch sets, I would say this Jambalaya Soup is my second favourite compared to the amazing Clam Chowder that I had on my very first visit. The Smoked Pulled Pork sandwich was a big hit. This was easily one of the best tasting pulled pork sandwiches I’ve ever tasted. I loved the smokiness of the pork. The meat was so tender and flavourful. I wish they would have this pulled pork sandwich as part of their regular menu as I definitely would want to order it again.

As usual, the chocolate chunk cookies inside the brown bag were perfect crispy on the outside while the center was soft and chewy. These cookies were the perfect way to end off such a delicious meal.

The service on this visit was excellent. Our server was  friendly and thorough at explaining all the daily features and lunch sets. Our food came very quickly and he kept our water glasses filled throughout our whole meal. Overall, this meal was a success on all fronts. I can’t wait to go back to CHARCUT again. There are so many items on the regular lunch menu that I’ve not tried yet and want to try but I keep on choosing the Daily Special Lunch Sets as there has always been one of the daily specials that’s intrigued me.

Here are the posts of my previous visits to CHARCUT: Visit #1, Visit #2, Visit #3, and Visit #4.

CHARCUT Roast House
#101, 899 Centre Street SW
Calgary, AB
(403) 984-2180

http://www.charcut.com

This entry was posted in Alberta, American, Calgary, eat, Lunch and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

