Pike Place Chowder – Seattle, WA

My friend C and I decided to do a day trip down to Seattle recently. We’ve driven down to Portland, OR from Vancouver, BC many times over the last few years but never had time to stop by in Seattle on each trip. I was happy that our destination for the day this time was Seattle as I’ve always heard great things about their culinary scene. We wanted to spend a relaxing afternoon checking out Pike Place Market and of course, a bunch of places for good eats.

Pike Place Chowder was our first stop. As the name suggests, this little eatery specializes in chowders. They are famous for their New England Clam Chowder, which was voted “Nation’s Best” at Rhode Island’s Great Chowder Cook-Off for several years in the past.  Earlier this year, Pike Place Chowder also won the People’s Choice Award for Best Chowder at the West Coast Chowder Competition in Monterey, California for their Traditional Clam, Seafood Bisque, and Seared Scallop chowders.

I would have tried their 4 Cup Chowder Sampler in order to sample all the award-winning chowders except that we wanted to save belly space since I had an ambitious list of places I wanted to hit. My friend C had been to Pike Place Chowder recently and had the chowder sampler. Of the ones she tried, she told me the New England Clam Chowder was definitely the one to get. We ordered a cup of the New England Clam Chowder (8 oz cup – $4.95; small 12 oz bowl – $5.95; large 16 oz bowl – $6.95; sourdough bread bowl – $8.95). This New England Clam Chowder was made with meaty clams flavoured with bacon, cream, and a secret blend of spices and herbs. This chowder was definitely tasty and easily one of the more memorable chowders that I’ve ever had.  To me, this chowder had the perfect consistency. It wasn’t too runny or thick. I was impressed with how tender the clams were.  This chowder tasted so go that I wanted to get more. I had remind myself that I was just there for a taste this time and that I had a whole afternoon of eating ahead of me all lined up. This New England Clam Chowder from Pike Place Chowder is definitely a winner! I can’t wait to go back to have more of this chowder next time I’m in the Seattle area.

Pike Place Chowder
Pike Place Market
1530 Post Alley
Seattle, WA 98101
(206)267-2537

http://pikeplacechowder.com

This entry was posted in American, eat, Lunch, Seattle, Snack, Washington and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

