Serious Pie (Westlake) – Seattle, WA

I had chosen Serious Pie to be the last stop on our mini-foodie tour of Seattle.  Similar to Dahlia Bakery, Serious Pie is another one of the restaurants owned by James Beard Award-Winning Chef Tom Douglas. I wanted to try Serious Pie because their Roasted Chanterelles & Truffle Cheese Pizza was featured on the Food Network show The Best Thing I Ever AtePizza episode.

Like many Seattle establishments, Serious Pie also has Happy Hour specials which consist of Mini-Pies for $6. All of the pies (pizzas) on the regular menu are available in the mini version. My original plan was to catch the last part of Serious Pie’s Happy Hour after slurping down some yummy oysters at Elliot’s Oyster House. The reason I wanted to go to Serious Pie for Happy Hour is because I wanted to get multiple mini-pies as that would give us the opportunity to try more varieties of pies. There are actually two Serious Pie locations, one in the downtown area and the second at Westlake & Harrison. I picked the Westlake & Harrison location because I found out that Dahlia Workshop, another one of Tom Douglas’ establishments, was located beneath Serious Pie in the same building. Dahlia Workshop is a Biscuit Bar serving up fresh gourmet biscuits.  I was a bit over-ambitious with my planning as I was hoping to have room in my belly to try a biscuit as well in addition to the pizza.

Because it took us longer than expected to get a table at Elliott’s Oyster House, we didn’t make it in time for Serious Pie’s Happy Hour.  Having done a whole day of chowing starting with a snack of Popeye’s fried chicken to the clam chowder at Pike Place Chowder and then on to the donuts and a coconut cream pie bite at Dahlia Bakery and the oysters at Elliott’s Oyster House, my friend C and I really only had enough belly room to share one regular-size pizza. Of course, we chose the Roasted Chanterelles & Truffle Cheese Pizza ($17) as we wanted to see what all the hype was about.

What is supposedly special about the pizzas at Serious Pie is that they are baked in a 600 F stone-encased applewood burning oven. Since Serious Pie was featured on the Food Network show The Best Thing I Ever AtePizza episode, we had high expectations of the pizza. The crust was airy, light, and crispy but I wish it would be a bit more chewy. I was pleasantly surprised the roasted chanterelles were very tender and moist but I was a bit disappointed that I couldn’t really taste truffle in the cheese. I’ve had truffle cheese before and always find it to be quite potent so I’m not sure why the truffle flavour wasn’t coming across in the pizza. My other small complaint was that the pizza wasn’t evenly seasoned. Some bites were adequately seasoned while other bites were on the bland side which led to the flavours being muted.  I wish there would be a small dish of sea salt at the table so we could season the pizza to taste, if necessary. Having eaten at what many foodies consider to be some of the best pizzerias in America such as Apizza Scholls and Ken’s Artisan Pizza in Portland, Oregon and Pizzeria Delfina in San Francisco, California, I personally didn’t find this pizza from Serious Pie to be all that memorable. This Roasted Chanterelles & Truffle Cheese Pizza was ok but it didn’t wow us and I wouldn’t classify it as the best pizza I ever ate.

I would still like to try the original Serious Pie location in downtown Seattle to see how the pizzas compare. I’m not sure if there is a difference in quality between the two locations or if we just went on an off day at the Westlake location. But I’m willing to give Serious Pie another chance so I can find out. I’d probably want to aim to go at Happy Hour so that I can try different pizzas.

Serious Pie
401 Westlake Ave N
(between Harrison St & Republican St)
Seattle, WA 98109
(206) 436-0500

http://seriouspiewestlake.com

This entry was posted in American, Dinner, eat, Pizza, Seattle, Washington and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

