Acme Cafe – Vancouver, BC

Acme Cafe is located right next to the famous Save-On-Meats in Gastown. I had not heard about Acme Cafe until the recently when I was perusing Vancouver Magazine’s list of the 101 Best Things to Eat and Drink in Vancouver 2011 edition.  The Lemon Meringue Pie from Acme Cafe was #17 the list. Though I don’t typically rely on these ‘Best Of’ lists, I happen to be in the neighbourhood after our lunch at Nicli Antica Pizzeria and really wanted to try the Lemon Meringue Pie to see what all the hype was about. With our bellies still full of pizza, we didn’t really have room for another meal at Acme Cafe.  Hence, I got a slice of the to-go so we could have it a little later as a snack.

This Lemon Meringue Pie ($5 per slice) looked delicious with its fluffy, tall meringue. The meringue was so tall that they didn’t have a take-out container tall enough to put it in. So they ended up putting the slice of pie in a foil take-out container and using another one of the same type of container as a lid. Since these containers didn’t interlock or seal, it was a bit of a challenge for us to take it back to the car.  I was ok with this as we didn’t park too far away and I wasn’t going to let the lack of a suitable take-out container deter me from tasting this pie. Actually, the slice of pie survived the trip back to the car surprisingly well in the make-shift container.

After the first bite of this pie, I was smitten. Normally, I’m indifferent towards lemon meringue pie, but this slice won me over. The crust was flaky and light. The meringue was fluffy, light and had the perfect amount of sweetness to complement the tartness of the lemon curd filling. I was really impressed the lemon curd filling was thick, creamy, tart, and tasted of freshly squeezed lemons. This was easily one of the best slices of lemon meringue pie that I ever had.

I was so impressed with this pie that I had to stop in again a few days later after my visit to Save-On Meats for a couple more slices, especially since it was next door. I couldn’t vouch for the rest of the menu at Acme Cafe but I just can’t get enough of their Lemon Meringue Pie. I know I’d be thinking about this pie every time I’m in the neighbourhood and hoping that they’re not sold out of it.

Acme Cafe
51 W Hastings St
Vancouver, BC
(604) 569-1022

http://www.acmecafe.ca

This entry was posted in American, British Columbia, Dessert, eat, Snack, Vancouver and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Acme Cafe – Vancouver, BC

  1. Kirby says:

    Wow! The Lemon Meringue Pie looks absolutely delicious! I will definitely be trying that when I get a chance to go to Acme Cafe! Thanks 🙂

    • miss.foodie says:

      I can’t stop thinking about that Lemon Meringue Pie. I will definitely be back for more slices on my next trip to Vancouver. It’s not my fault if you get addicted! 🙂

Leave a Reply

