Tiffin Curry and Roti House – Calgary, AB

I had heard about Tiffin Curry and Roti House several years ago but just never got around to trying it. The term Tiffin refers to the carrier consisting of multiple stacking containers used to carry prepared food. I had heard that this restaurant actually offers tiffins as part of their take-out service. Regular customers are encouraged to buy either a regular-sized tiffin for $20 or a large for $25. In return, they will get a discount off their combo meals. This is actually an environmentally friendly way to do take-out and the other benefit is the meals actually stay hot inside the thermal tiffin containers.

My coworker and I decided to go there for lunch last month. The curry schedule changes daily at Tiffin with at least 3 or more vegetable curries and meat curries to choose from. Butter chicken is a staple and is available daily. My coworker ordered the Combo 5 ($12.95), which consisted of  a choice 2 meat curries, rice & 3 rotis and a choice of 1 chutney. He chose Butter Chicken and Ground Beef & Peas Curry for the 2 meat curries and a side of the Green Chili chutney. I had a taste of both meat curries and thought they were flavourful and delicious. The Green Chili chutney was actually very spicy as it contained fresh green chilies blended with coriander.

I wanted a lighter meal and opted to try one of the entrees, the Shish Kebab ($10.95). It consisted of  2 skewers of barbequed spiced ground beef and was served with salad and naan.  I didn’t have high expectations for the salad but to my surprise, the salad was nicely dressed in a light vinaigrette. The ground beef kebabs were flavourful and spicy.  I was impressed with how tender and juicy the meat was. The one thing to note is that unlike the curries which are kept at the steam table, the entrees such as the Shish Kebab are actually made to order. Hence, there is a bit of a wait for the food. Personally, I didn’t mind at all as I would prefer my food freshly made to order rather than it warming at the steam table, especially for items such as kebabs which may become dry if it sat around for too long.

My kebab entree also included a choice of 3 chutneys. I chose the Lemon Hot Sauce, the Tamarind Sauce, and the Raita. The Lemon Hot Sauce consisted of Kashmiri chilies blended with lemon juice and a hint of paprika. It was spicy and tangy but not as spicy as the Green Chili chutney that my coworker had. The Tamarind Sauce was slightly sweet and sour and complemented the kebabs well. The Raita was a seasoned yogurt with cucumber, onions, tomatoes and cilantro. Personally, I wasn’t a huge fan of the Raita but it was nice to have around to cool things off when I occasionally felt too much heat on my tongue.

Overall, both my coworker and I thoroughly enjoyed our meals at Tiffin. As much as I like the curries, it’s a bit too much carbs for me with the rice and the rotis.  The Shish Kebab meal was the perfect low-carb alternative for me. It’s too bad the Tiffin Curry and Roti House is not closer to my work. If it was, I’d go there regularly for lunch.

Tiffin Curry and Roti House
188 28 St SE
Calgary, AB
(403) 273-2420

http://www.tiffincurry.com

This entry was posted in Alberta, Calgary, East African, eat, Indian, Lunch and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

