Penang Delight Cafe – Vancouver, BC

I’d been wanting to try Penang Delight Cafe for some time now. I’d passed by it many times on my way to Sushi Kimura for omakase. Located next door to Sushi Kimura, Penang Delight Cafe is a restaurant that serves up authentic Malaysian cuisine. My coworker tried Penang Delight Cafe during her trip to Vancouver a couple of months back and raved about the food. After hearing this, I decided to save a slot in my eating schedule to check it out during my recent trip to Vancouver last month.

I ordered the Hainanese Chicken Rice Ball ($9.95) as I was intrigued by the chicken broth rice balls. I’ve had Hainanese Chicken Rice many times before with the rice served on the side but never formed into balls.

The Hainanese chicken was delicious. It was served warm on top of crunchy blanched sprouts and a flavourful sweet soy sauce. The sweet soy sauce was not too salty and was perfect for drizzling on top of the rice balls. This dish came with a side of the proper chili sauce for Hainanese chicken. The chicken was steamed perfectly. The meat was silky, tender and flavourful. It was a plus that the chicken pieces were deboned.

I really liked the chicken broth rice balls. The rice balls had a lot of chicken flavour and were slightly chewy. To my surprise, the rice balls didn’t seem oily at all even though it was prepared with broth from the chicken. As much as it is a novelty for the rice to be shaped into balls, I actually prefer them over the typical bowl of Hainanese rice and would definitely order them again.

My friend ordered the Nasi Lemak with Beef Rendang ($10.95). This dish consisted of coconut milk rice served with half a hard-boiled egg, sambal, ikan bilis (deep-fried anchovies), peanuts, cucumber slices, beef rendang as well as a piece of papadum, which is a thin, crisp cracker. The beef rendang consisted of beef that has been slowly cooked in lemongrass, curry, garlic, and coconut milk. I really liked how tender and flavourful the meat was. This was my first time trying Nasi Lemak (coconut milk rice) with all the accompaniments. I loved the contrasting textures and flavours of all the accompaniments, especially the deep-fried anchovies.

I’m glad my coworker recommended Penang Delight Cafe to me as I really enjoyed these two dishes. I can’t wait to go back again to get my fill of Malaysian food on my next trip to Vancouver.  It’s too bad there are currently no Malaysian restaurants here in Calgary ever since Tropika closed down a couple of years ago.

Penang Delight Cafe
3885 Rupert St
Vancouver, BC
(604) 566-9898

http://www.penangdelight.com

This entry was posted in British Columbia, eat, Lunch, Malaysian, Vancouver and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Penang Delight Cafe – Vancouver, BC

  1. fmed says:

    They have some nice desserts too!

Leave a Reply

