Song Viet – Calgary, AB

My coworkers and I are huge fans of sate beef noodle soup. We’ve been going to this location in Chinatown since way back in the day when this location was still home to Vietnamese Village. Vietnamese Village has since moved to 7th Avenue and 8 Street SW and been renamed to Vietnamese Village Express. Song Viet replaced Vietnamese Village in this Chinatown location and we continued to go there out of convenience. Over time, we discovered that we actually preferred this version of sate beef noodle soup even more than the version from Vietnamese Village Express.

If you like sate beef noodle soup, the item to get at Song Viet is 64. Sate Rice Noodle Soup with Beef ($8.75).  What I like about Song Viet’s version  is the depth and complexity of flavours of the sate soup. The broth is so rich and flavourful. I could really taste the nuttiness from the sate and the broth was not too oily. The noodles were perfectly al dente.  As much as I love this Sate Rice Noodle Soup with Beef, I think there is still room for improvement. I found the beef slices to be chewier than the beef slices from other pho places.  I wish they would use better quality beef. Usually, the beef slices that I have in my pho are so tender that they practically melt in my mouth. Also, because more sate is used in this recipe to achieve a more intense flavour, I found the broth to be a bit on the gritty side at times, especially when I get towards the bottom of the bowl. Overall, because I like the flavours of the sate soup so much, I’m willing to overlook these minor shortcomings and keep going back to Song Viet as I have yet to find another place that serves such a complex sate broth. So far, out of all the Sate Rice Noodle Soup with Beef that I’ve tasted, this version from Song Viet is still one of the best.

Song Viet
138 3 Ave SE
Calgary, AB
(403) 266-4114

This entry was posted in Alberta, Calgary, eat, Lunch, Vietnamese and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

