L.A. Chicken – Richmond, BC

In my quest to find really good spicy fried chicken, I came across L.A. Chicken. I had read a few online posts about this place previously but I was still a bit skeptical as it didn’t get much mention in the foodie community. When it was listed on Vancouver Magazine’s Best Things to Eat and Drink in Vancouver 2011 last month, that really got my attention.  Hence, I made it a point to check it out on this recent trip to Vancouver.

Since our bellies were already full from our other eating adventures, we really just wanted a small sampling of this spicy fried chicken to see if it makes the grade. On the menu board, the options available included 2 or 3 piece chicken dinners that included fries, salad, and gravy; 2 or 3 piece snack packs that included fries and gravy; and chicken only options in 10, 12, 15, or 20 piece orders.  We were not exactly interested in any of those options as we weren’t willing to invest that much belly space on our first visit to get the 10 piece chicken only order nor were we really interested in the fries or salad that came with the snack packs or set dinners. What we really wanted was to be able to just get a couple of pieces of chicken to sample and nothing else. As it turns out, when we asked the lady behind the counter whether it was possible to get a couple of pieces of just the chicken only, it was indeed possible and she pulled out a paper sheet or should I say “secret menu” listing the price for any number of chicken pieces. So apparently, it is possible to order however many pieces of chicken you want and you don’t have to really stick to the posted menu board. We decided we only wanted to share 2 pieces to test out the waters.  We asked for our Two Piece Chicken ($5.29) order to be spicy. L.A. Chicken offers two versions of fried chicken – Crispy (Spicy) or Original Recipe. Personally, I didn’t bother with the Original Recipe as I was wanting to find the ultimate spicy fried chicken here in Canada to satisfy my Popeyes Spicy Fried Chicken cravings without having to head south of the border.

We were really impressed with this version of Spicy fried chicken from L.A. Chicken. Though we went during the off hours (around 4 pm) so we weren’t sure if our order was freshly fried since our order was ready super quickly, we noted that the chicken did not seem to be greasy at all and the meat was super moist and flavourful. This was by far the best fast food fried chicken I’ve had here in Canada thus far with the exception of Popeyes of course, which is only available in Ontario. Compared to KFC and Church’s, L.A. Chicken is definitely much better. The battered crust was really crispy and had a nice spicy kick to it. The meat inside was moist and succulent. Personally, I still think Popeyes edges out L.A. Chicken because Popeyes marinates their meat in spicy Louisiana seasoning so both the meat and the batter are spicy. But L.A. Chicken is a pretty close second and I liked that the chicken was not that greasy.

I’m really glad I tried the spicy fried chicken from L.A. Chicken. This will now be my go to place for spicy fried chicken here in Canada. Too bad, they don’t have a location in Calgary.  But since I visit Vancouver often enough, I guess that’s not too bad. I can now satisfy my spicy fried chicken craving whenever I visit Vancouver.

L.A. Chicken
#160, 11780 Thorpe Road
Richmond, BC
(604) 278-4737

This entry was posted in American, British Columbia, Dinner, eat, Lunch, Richmond, Snack and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

