Etta (Violetta’s mobile kitchen) – Portland, OR

My friend C and I came upon Etta by completely by accident. I had originally planned to go to the Good Food Here cart pod for dinner to check Lardo for their porchetta and Cackalack’s Hot Chicken Shack for spicy fried chicken. Unfortunately, Lardo did not have the porchetta that evening and Cackalack’s had closed early because they were sold out of everything. Hence, my friend C and I were a looking around for alternatives to try at the cart pod. That was when we stumbled upon Etta. Etta or Rollin’ Etta is Violetta’s mobile kitchen. Violetta is an eatery in downtown Portland with a menu that is best described as seasonal fast-food Americana but with a gourmet twist. They pride themselves with using high quality locally sourced and organic ingredients. Etta serves the most popular items from the Violetta Menu, such as the signature Violetta Burgers, Specialty Fries, Soups, as well as some daily specials.

As I was researching for Portland, Violetta had made it on to my short list of places to try but I didn’t think I would have the opportunity to go during this visit since Violetta is located downtown and was not close to where we were planning to go shopping. I did not realize that Violetta had a second location at the Good Food Here cart pod. When I saw Etta, I knew immediately what I wanted to try. The Oregon Blue Burger ($7.00 for single patty; add $2.00 for second patty) had caught my eye when I was perusing the menu. The Oregon Blue came with a 1/3 pound all-natural black Angus beef patty that was topped Oregonzola, caramelized onions, bacon, and burger sauce and served on a brioche bun.

The burger was delicious! While I wouldn’t go so far to say it was the most memorable burger I ever had, it was certainly one of the better burgers that I’ve had. I loved how the flavours melded together, especially the creaminess of the Oregonzola cheese. The Oregonzola, as the name suggests, is a Gorgonzola style cheese from Oregon that is sharp, tangy, and fruity at the same time. The only small quibble I had was that I couldn’t taste the smoked bacon much because it was overpowered by the other flavours. Otherwise, overall, I was pretty pleased with the burger. In fact, I would say it was the highlight of our trip to the Good Food Here cart pod that evening. I definitely would go back to Violetta or Etta again on a future trip to Portland.

Etta (Violetta’s Mobile Cart)
Good Food Here Cart Pod
4262 SE Belmont St (SE 43rd & Belmont)
Portland, OR

http://www.violettapdx.com/etta.aspx

@violettaatdp

Violetta @ Director’s Park (Downtown)
877 SW Taylor @ SW Park
Portland, OR

http://www.violettapdx.com

@violettaatdp

This entry was posted in American, Dinner, eat, Oregon, Portland and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

