Finch’s Tea & Coffee House – Vancouver, BC

When I was visiting Vancouver last October, my foodie friend Grayelf had recommended that I check out Finch’s Tea & Coffee House for one of their signature sandwiches. Since I didn’t have room in my eating schedule in October, I made point of scheduling it in when I was back in town again last November.

Finch’s Tea & Coffee House is a quaint little cafe located next to a sketchy downtown hostel on the corner of West Pender and Homer. Initially, I had a little trouble finding it. Due to the lack signage at eye-level and their door being at an angle, I walked right past it twice without even noticing it. I finally found it after having to dig up the exact address. I was lucky I arrived before noon as I managed to get one of the last tables. It didn’t take long for the whole place to fill up.

The menu at Finch’s consists of breakfast items, soups, and salads but their claim to fame are the gourmet baguette sandwiches. Their gourmet baguette sandwiches come in different variations with most containing artisan cheeses and various vegetables. Their meat selection is limited to prosciutto and gypsy salami.

As my foodie friend Grayelf had recommended, I ordered the Pear Baguette with Blue Brie, Prosciutto, Roasted Walnuts, Oil & Vinegar ($8.95). The presentation of the baguette was indeed impressive, especially with the slices of pear fanned-out across the baguette.  I actually found it a little difficult to eat the baguette with all the fillings overflowing from it. I wanted to get the perfect bite with a little of each filling so that I could taste all the flavours melding together. Overall, I thought this sandwich was really tasty and fresh. I enjoyed the sweetness of the pear against the slight saltiness of the prosciutto. The creaminess of the blue brie was nicely balanced by the tanginess of the balsamic vinegar while the roasted walnuts provided a nice nutty flavour. The combination of flavours and textures was definitely well thought out. However, I didn’t think it had a wow factor as I found the sandwich to be a bit on the simple side. I kept on thinking this was something that I could easily make at home myself and the ingredients are readily available. Though it’s not necessarily a fair comparison since the styles are really different, I couldn’t help but think about the porchetta sandwich I had from Meat & Bread, which is only a couple of blocks from Finch’s. To me, the porchetta sandwich from Meat & Bread had more of a wow factor and is definitely something I couldn’t easily make at home. I would go back to Finch’s if I was looking for a lighter and healthier option for lunch.  But since I’m usually just in town for a brief visit, I would probably gravitate towards Meat & Bread if I was in the neighbourhood as I have limited opportunity to have such a tasty porchetta sandwich. It would be different if I was a local and working in the area as Finch’s provides a tasty and healthy option for lunch.

Finch’s Tea & Coffee House
353 W Pender (@ Homer)
Vancouver, BC
(604) 899-4040

http://www.finchteahouse.com

This entry was posted in American, British Columbia, eat, Lunch, Vancouver and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

