Five Guys Burger and Fries – Calgary, AB

I’m usually not a fan of chain restaurants, especially not fast-food chains. However, I made an exception and decided to check out one of the Five Guys Burger and Fries locations here in Calgary. Since there is no Five Guys in Edmonton yet and my friend was visiting from Edmonton, this was the perfect opportunity for her to try it out. Five Guys is not new to me as I had tried it once a couple of years back when I was visiting Dallas, Texas. Though I didn’t think that burger I tried was the most memorable burger that I ever eaten, it definitely was a step above the normal fast-food chain burger. Five Guys prides themselves in making burgers that are 100% fresh beef with no fillers or preservatives. Compared to other fast-food chains, Five Guys’ menu seems to be a bit pricier.  However, I knew from my previous visit to Five Guys that their portion sizes are actually rather large. Their regular burgers contain double patties while their “little” burgers contain single patties. Their regular order of fries easily feeds two to three people.

My friend and I both decided to order the Little Hamburger ($4.99).  Unlike other places that charge extra for each topping, all the toppings at Five Guys are free with the exception of cheese and bacon. Interestingly though, at Five Guys, “EVERYTHING” doesn’t actually mean “everything” or “all the free toppings available”.  Ordering your burger with “EVERYTHING” or “ALL-THE-WAY” actually means that the burger would be topped with a subset of toppings, namely – mayo, lettuce, pickles, tomatoes, grilled onions, grilled mushrooms, ketchup, and mustard. Other toppings that are available upon request include relish, raw onions, jalapeno peppers, green peppers, A1 Steak sauce, bar-b-q sauce, and hot sauce.  Since the “ALL-THE-WAY” option is actually programmed in the cash register, I figured that it had to be the most popular way that people order their burgers and so I wanted to try out that combination of toppings for my “Little Hamburger.”

The “Little Hamburger” was actually not that “little”. In fact, it was similar in size to the regular full-sized burgers at other fast-food chains. With all the toppings were stacked on, it actually was quite substantial in size. I enjoyed the juiciness of the beef patty and the freshness of the toppings. For a fast-food chain burger, it was surely head and shoulders above the rest. However, compared to the Alley Burger, which happens to be at exactly the same price point, I personally think the Alley Burger tastes more gourmet. If I had a choice between the Alley Burger or Five Guys’, I would pick the Alley Burger. Having said that, if I had to pick fast-food chain burger place, Five Guy’s would be my #1 choice. The good thing about Five Guys is that they are at fixed locations and open 7 days a week from 11am-10pm., unlike the food trucks which roam about and are open for limited hours.

My friend and I shared a regular order of Cajun Fries ($3.49 for regular; $4.99 for large). What you actually see in the photo is actually only about two-thirds of the fries in our order. The rest was in the brown paper bag that our order came in. There were so many fries that the container couldn’t hold them all. The fries were freshly cooked in peanut oil and served straight out of the fryer. They were well-seasoned and crispy on the outside while being toothsome on the inside. My friend loved the fries and told me that was actually her favourite part of the meal.

Overall, we were both satisfied with our Five Guys Burger and Fries experience. It’s too bad currently there are only two locations and both of them are in the south part of Calgary. I’d like to seem them open up more locations around town.

Five Guys Burger and Fries
7337 MacLeod Trail SE
Calgary, AB
(403) 252-2224

http://fiveguys.ca

This entry was posted in Alberta, American, Calgary, eat, Lunch and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Five Guys Burger and Fries – Calgary, AB

  1. Lindsay says:

    I’ve gone to Five Guys twice with my guy friends. I liked the little cheeseburger that I ordered, but I found that I grew tired of their cajun fries. I was lucky that we had ordered a large cajun and a large regular for the table to share. I don’t think I could have finished a little burger and regular fries on my own.

    • miss.foodie says:

      I totally agree that I wouldn’t be able a little burger and fries on my own. Actually that’s what happened to me when I tried it for the first time in Dallas. I got through the burger and maybe a third of the fries. If I were to go on my own, I would just get the little burger. Even on this visit when we shared the regular sized fries, my friend and I couldn’t finish the fries and we almost didn’t eat dinner that night because we were that stuffed from lunch.

Leave a Reply

