Pastries from Lido Restaurant – Richmond, BC

While researching for my recent trip to Vancouver, I perused through Vancouver Magazine’s Best Things to Eat and Drink in Vancouver 2011 and noted that Lido Restaurant’s Pineapple Bun (Bolo Bau) was mentioned in that 101 item list.  I was intrigued as normally I’m not a fan of Hong Kong-style pastries. But I figured since this Pineapple Bun made it on the top 101 list, there must be some merit to it.  Hence, I  put Lido’s Pineapple Bun on my list of items to try on this recent trip to Vancouver.

Lido Restaurant is a Hong Kong-style cafe located in a small strip mall that is between Aberdeen Centre and Parker Place. I’ve driven by there numerous times but never even noticed it. I had no idea how popular this place was. It was lined up out there door when I got there on a late Saturday afternoon. Fortunately, I was just planning to get the pineapple bun to go so the line up wasn’t a problem for me. As I walked in, I noticed whole trays of pastry treats on a rack by the door that included the infamous pineapple buns, egg tarts, cocktail buns, and bbq pork buns.

I got one of the freshly baked Pineapple Buns ($1.55) to try.  For those unfamiliar, the pineapple bun does not actually contain any pineapple nor is it pineapple flavoured. Apparently, the name came to be because the sugary top crust is golden-brown in color and is supposedly checkered in appearance, which resembles the skin of a pineapple. The top crust on the bun was crispy, crumbly, and had a texture similar to a sandy sugar cookie. This crust is actually made from a blend of sugar, eggs, flour and lard. I loved how the crust just melted in my mouth. The bun on the bottom was soft, light, and slightly sweet though not as sweet as the crumbly topping. This was easily the best Pineapple Bun that I’ve tasted to date and is a perfect afternoon snack to go with a cup of coffee or tea.

When I had mentioned to my coworker that I was planning to go to Lido just to check out the Pineapple Bun, she told me that they were famous for their egg tarts as well. As luck would have it, when I went to pick up the Pineapple Bun, a whole tray of freshly baked egg tarts had just come out of the oven and were still in their molds. I decided to get one Egg Tart ($1.55) to try. This Egg Tart was amazing. The crust was flaky, light, and just melted in my mouth. I liked that the custard filling wasn’t too sweet. It tasted almost as good as the Mini Egg Tarts that I had during dim sum at Good Choice Restaurant last year.

Overall, I was really impressed with both the Pineapple Bun and Egg Tart from Lido Restaurant. Though, comparatively, their prices for these items are quite a bit higher than many Chinese bakeries, personally I don’t mind paying the premium as I think these are better executed. If I was craving a Pineapple Bun or an Egg Tart, Lido would be my go to place. It’s too bad I can’t find a place in Calgary that makes Chinese pastries as good as these.

Lido Restaurant
4231 Hazelbridge Way
Richmond, BC
(604) 231-0055

This entry was posted in British Columbia, Chinese, eat, Richmond, Snack and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Pastries from Lido Restaurant – Richmond, BC

  1. dinutrition says:

    I love pineapple buns!

Leave a Reply

