Brunch @ Vendome Cafe – Calgary, AB

I tried Vendome Cafe for the first time two weeks ago. I didn’t even know this place existed until my hair stylist mentioned it to me. I had a little trouble locating it at first as it is not amongst the main strip of shops along Kensington Road or 10 Street NW. Vendome Cafe is actually tucked away in the Sunnyside neighbourhood and is located at the corner of 9 Street and 2nd Avenue NW. After reading a few reviews, I was really excited to try this place as I had learned that it was run by the same owners as the upscale Teatro Ristorante.

When I arrived shortly before 11 on a Sunday morning, I wasn’t sure what to expect. I was just hoping that the line up wouldn’t be insanely long. Though there was a small line at the door initially for placing the food and drink orders, to my pleasant surprise, it moved fairly quickly. I was also surprised that though the seating area appeared to be full, the tables turned over quickly and at any given time, there was no one left standing around waiting for a table after they had placed their food and drink order. After I had placed my order, I managed to quickly secure a nice table and waited for my friend to arrive.

My friend ordered the Spinach and Mushroom Croissant ($6.95), which came stuffed with sautéed spinach, button mushrooms and was topped a four cheese bechamel sauce. The sautéed spinach and mushrooms were delicious but we were a bit surprised with the “croissant” as it was not as flaky, light, and soft as we were expecting. The “croissant” was actually quite dense and was more similar in texture to bread.

I decided to try the French Toast with Caramelized Banana ($11.95). Instead of traditional slices of bread heavily coated in an egg batter, this French toast at Vendome Cafe consisted of fluffy cubes of bread that were lightly coated in egg batter and fried till they were crisp. They were served with little florets of whipped cream and cream cheese chunks.  The dish was finished with a dusting of cinnamon sugar and a light drizzle of maple syrup. The French toast was delicious. In particular, I liked that it was light and fluffy and not too eggy. The cream cheese chunks were an interesting accompaniment as they provided a bit of tanginess to contrast the other sweet elements of the dish.

I’d definitely be back again for the French Toast as well as to try some of the other menu items. The ones that have caught my eye include the Crab Eggs Benny made with blue crab and the Duck Confit Panini.

Vendome Cafe
940 2nd Ave NW
Calgary, AB
(403) 453-1140

http://vendomecafe.com

This entry was posted in Alberta, American, Breakfast/Brunch, Calgary, eat and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Brunch @ Vendome Cafe – Calgary, AB

  1. Hey thanks for blogging about this – i have been meaning to go to this place for such a long time but never think about it! Seems like definitely worth checking out!

    • miss.foodie says:

      I really like the atmosphere at Vendome Cafe and I’m pleasantly surprised at how quickly the tables turn over even though the place was full. I’m never one to want to wait an hour in line to get a table for brunch so I was really happy with my experience at Vendome. They also have quite a few vegetarian options on the menu. 🙂

Leave a Reply

