Alberta King of Subs – Calgary, AB

Located in a strip mall in the far northeast neighbourhood of Temple, Alberta King of Subs is a true hidden gem specializing in authentic Montreal Smoked Meat sandwiches, Montreal-style grilled hot subs, and other Montreal specialties such as poutine and steamed hot dogs. This place is a lunch time favourite amongst a bunch of my coworkers. Every now and then, we’d make the trek across town to Alberta King of Subs for lunch.

On this recent visit, one of my coworkers ordered the special, which was the Montreal Smoked Meat and Fried Onions Sub ($12.45 for 12″; $7.50 for 6″). As the name suggests, this hot sub was topped with Montreal smoked meat and sautéed onions along with the standard toppings of lettuce, tomatoes, melted cheese, oregano and their secret sauce.

Another coworker ordered the Big King Sub ($13.95 for 12″; $8.75 for 6″), which was topped with steak, pepperoni, capicolli, mushroom, green peppers, and fried onions in addition to the standard toppings of lettuce, tomatoes, melted cheese, oregano and their secret sauce. What’s also unique about Alberta King of Subs is that they carry a variety of beverages from Quebec such as Cott’s brand cream soda and black cherry soda. My favourite has always been pairing Cott’s black cherry with my Montreal smoked meat sandwiches ever since I tried it for the first time at Schwartz’s while visiting Montreal a couple of years back.

I ordered the Jester ($12.95 for 12″; $7.95 for 6″), which was topped with steak, smoked meat, and sautéed onions along with the standard toppings of lettuce, tomatoes, melted cheese, oregano and their secret sauce. This was actually my first time trying a hot sub here as I usually order the smoked meat sandwiches. It’s great that they don’t skimp on the toppings but the downside is that the overflowing toppings make it very difficult to pick up and eat. I don’t know how my coworkers managed to pick up their sub but I ended up eating mine with a fork and knife so I didn’t get the true experience since I wasn’t able to get a little of all the toppings in each bite. However, the upside was that I didn’t end up wearing my lunch!

My other coworker, who had not been there before, decided to try a Montreal Smoked Meat sandwich ($10.50 for regular size; $7.7.5 for Queen size).

The four of us shared a regular sized “Regular” poutine ($7.25 for regular; $5.75 for small). The King of Subs offers a variety of meat toppings for their poutine including smoked meat, hot dog, pepperoni, and chicken. However, we preferred the classic or “Regular” version, which was topped with just cheese curds and gravy. I can easily say this was one of the better poutine I’ve had in Calgary. It certainly beats the version that I had at The District a couple of months back. The gravy was of the perfect consistency really flavourful. I had heard that they use the drippings from the smoked meat to make this gravy. It’s no wonder the gravy tastes so good!  I also liked that some of the cheese curds were still in tact and not totally melted into goo.

Short of going to Montreal, I would say Alberta King of Subs is one of the best places in Calgary to experience Montreal style cuisine. This place is a true hidden gem that’s worth driving across town for.

Alberta King of Subs
7196 Temple Dr NE
Calgary, AB
(403) 293-5809

http://www.albertakingofsubs.com

This entry was posted in Alberta, Calgary, Canadian, eat, Lunch and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Alberta King of Subs – Calgary, AB

  1. Wow, great review! I wanna check this place out right now but i am a vegetarian, so i am not sure if i would find anything to eat there! I love finding out about hidden gems that no one else knows about….my favourite for fast food righ now is that schnitzel place. Have you heard about it?

    • miss.foodie says:

      Yes, I’ve heard about That Schnitzel Place. I tried it when they first opened last fall. Thanks for reminding me as I haven’t been there in a while.

      As for Alberta King of Subs, if you check their menu, there are actually a few vegetarian options. I just looked and they offer grilled cheese sandwiches. As well, they have a vegetarian grilled sub (#15 Veggie Special) with fried onions, green peppers, mushrooms, and sweet pimento. They have a cold sub that’s vegetarian as well (#20 the Veggie Dream).

      http://www.albertakingofsubs.com/Menu%20Picture.html

Leave a Reply

