Brunch @ Wurst – Calgary, AB

After reading about the French Toast from Wurst on FoodKarma’s Favourite Food Things of 2011, I’d immediately put it on my list of things to try.  So when my food blogger friend Anna, of Anna’s Appetite, and I decided to meet up for brunch a couple of weeks ago, Wurst was on the top of my list as I was really looking forward to try the amazing-looking French Toast. This French Toast ($16) was stuffed with slices of double smoked bacon and shredded Sylvan Star gouda. It was then topped with a crunchy apple slaw, whipped crème fraîche and a blueberry sauce along with some fresh berries. All the flavours and textures combined truly made this dish amazing! I loved tartness of the crunchy apple slaw against the sweet blueberry sauce and the double smoked bacon along with the shredded gouda provided a nice savoury balance to the dish. This is truly one of the most memorable brunch dishes I’ve had in Calgary in a long time.

Being die hard foodies, we still had a little room left in our tummies and decided that we wanted to try something else on the menu since we were both so impressed with the French Toast. A friend of mine who regularly has brunch at Wurst had recommended the Fourth Street Cobb Salad ($19) so I picked this salad to share between Anna and myself. This salad consisted of  poached lobster, butter lettuce & watercress, slices of avocado, chèvre noir, hot house cucumbers, tarragon & crème fraîche dressing, and slices of smoked bison. I was excited to try it since my friend was raving about it. Unfortunately, this salad did not wow me was much as the French Toast did. As I was eating this salad, I couldn’t help but to think about the Lobster Salad I had for lunch at the Vin Room, which is just practically across the street from Wurst. The flavour of butter poached lobster along with baby potatoes and crisp pancetta in the salad from the Vin Room really had a wow factor. However, my only quibble about that salad from the Vin Room is that the portion is too small for the price point (which incidentally is the same price as this Fourth Street Cobb Salad) as I would have needed two orders to be full. This Fourth Street Cobb Salad, on the other hand, was generously portioned. However, I found the lobster to be a bit dry. The claw meat was tender but the tail was a bit chewy. I’m glad I finally tried it but I’d probably opt to try another dish on my next visit.

Overall, I was really impressed with our experience at Wurst. The service was great and I really like that they take reservations, even for brunch since I’m not particularly fond of waiting in line for hours to get a table for brunch. I can’t wait to go back to have the French Toast again and there are so many other interesting items on the menu I’d like to try.

Wurst
2437 4th Street SW
Calgary, Alberta
(403)245-2345

http://wurst.ca

This entry was posted in Alberta, American, Breakfast/Brunch, Calgary, eat, German and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

