Tazza Deli & Grill – Calgary, AB

I didn’t even know Tazza Deli & Grill existed until my friend M told me about it. Tazza Deli & Grill is a Middle Eastern eatery located in the neighbourhood of Bridgeland. One reason I never came across Tazza before is because it is located at the far east end of 1st Avenue NE and I usually never quite make it that far into the neighbourhood.

As a casual eatery, I really like the set up at Tazza. Though Tazza is mostly a take-out type of place, they have about half a dozen tables inside the shop for customers to sit down and eat for the colder days and a nice patio outside for the warmer days. The menu at Tazza is similar to Jimmy’s A&A Mediterranean Deli on 20th Avenue NW which I’ve been going to for years. However, I find the atmosphere and sitting area to be much nicer and more cozy at Tazza.


The set up is similar to Jimmy’s A&A where you order at the counter, and the food is freshly prepared to order. The menu consists of typical Middle Eastern appetizers such as hummus, baba ghannouj, kibbeh, fatayer, and falafel balls, as well as salads, and a variety of sandwiches and platters.

My friend M ordered the Chicken Shish Taouk Salad ($12.99). Since the portions are fairly generous, she decided to get the order to go so that she could save some of it for a snack later. The salad consisted of marinated roast chicken, a variety of vegetables including pickled turnips (kabees), tomatoes, parsley, onion, and was topped with a tahini dressing.

I ordered a regular sized Chicken Shish Taouk Sandwich ($7.99 for regular; $9.59 for large). The sandwich consisted of spit-roasted marinated chicken and fresh vegetables topped with a garlic sauce and served on a pita. Basically, this sandwich had the same components as the salad except that it was served as a wrap. This wrap tasted really fresh and the vegetables were very crunchy. My friend M got me hooked on the pickled turnips (kabees), which were crunchy and delicious. I enjoyed the garlic sauce here although personally, I prefer the version from Jimmy’s A&A as it is more garlicky and addictive.  The spit-roasted marinated chicken was flavourful and tasty.

Overall, I enjoyed my visit to Tazza. I can’t wait to go back to try some of their other menu items. I like that their location is not too far from downtown. With a vehicle, it’s totally doable for me to cross the bridge and head over to Tazza for quick and delicious lunch.

Tazza Deli & Grill
1105 1 Ave NE
Calgary, AB
(403) 263-5922

http://www.tazzafresh.com

This entry was posted in Alberta, Calgary, eat, Lunch, Mediterranean, Middle Eastern and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

