Vin Room – Calgary, AB

My food blogger friend Anna of Anna’s Appetite and I ended up at Vin Room unintentionally. We had just finished having a rather disappointing dinner at an eatery nearby and wanted to end our evening on a high note so we decided to stop in at the Vin Room for something sweet. Originally, we were thinking of having dessert but after perusing the menu, a bunch of the savoury items ended up catching our eye.

The two savoury dishes we settled on were the Lamb Kabobs and the Eggplant Chips. Keeping in mind what we were planning to order for snacks, I chose four different reds to pair with our food. What I love about Vin Room is their extensive wine list and the option of being able to order several 2oz pours to taste and experiment with the food. For the Lamb Kabobs, I chose the 2009 J. Boutin Crozes Hermitage Les Hautes Granites Syrah from the Rhone region in France ($4.50 for 2oz; $13.50 for 6 oz) and the 2009 Micheal David Petit-Petit from Lodi region in California ($4 for 2oz; $12 for 6oz). For the Eggplant Chips, I chose the 2008 Quinta do Casal Branco Quartilho Red from the Ribatejo region in Portugal ($3 for 2oz; $9 for 6oz) and the 2010 Andeluna Malbec from Mendoza, Argentina ($3.25 for 2oz; $10 for 6oz).  When our server brought the wines, I was actually surprised she brought along a sheet with the names of the wines written on it so that we would be able to keep them straight while sampling them with the food. This is the first time I’d seen a wine bar do that so I thought it was a brilliant idea.

Our first dish was the Lamb Kabobs ($12). The kabobs were served on a bed of sautéed spinach with a fenugreek turmeric sauce. The kabobs were really tender and flavourful. When paired with the wines, I thought the lamb kabobs paired better with the 2009 J. Boutin Crozes Hermitage Les Hautes Granites Syrah as this wine was a bit lighter but very elegant and well-balanced. The 2009 Micheal David Petit-Petit was much bolder and almost over-powered the lamb by itself. However, to my pleasant surprise, when paired with the sautéed spinach in the fenugreek turmeric sauce, the Petit-Petit ended up having a sweet finish with some vanilla notes. This was a really interesting find for me as I would have never predicted how the spices from the curry sauce would change the taste of the wine in that way.

Our second dish was the Eggplant Chips ($10), which consisted of eggplant slices that have been breaded, deep-fried, and were topped with sumac and pomegranate molasses. The chips came with a side of herbed yogurt for dipping. These Eggplant Chips were delicious and I would definitely order them again. I liked that the slices of eggplant were perfectly toothsome and crispy. The eggplant chips paired perfectly with the 2008 Quinta do Casal Branco Quartilho Red, which was light and very fruity. The 2010 Andeluna Malbec was a bit too bold and heavy for the delicate flavours of the eggplant chips.

All in all, this was a really fun experience for Anna and myself and certainly helped to end our evening on a high note. I definitely see myself going back to Vin Room more frequently to experiment with pairing different wines with various dishes. I really like the 2oz pours so I don’t have to commit to any one wine and can order several different ones to experiment with the food. The food on this visit was very well executed and flavourful.

Vin Room
2310 4 St SW
Calgary, AB
(403) 457-5522

http://www.vinroom.com

This entry was posted in Alberta, American, Calgary, drink, eat, Snack and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Vin Room – Calgary, AB

  1. ImJeffHanson says:

    I’ve lived in Calgary for 14 years and have never even heard of this place! Looks awesome though, I think I may have to take a peek for myself!

Leave a Reply

