Delancey – Seattle, WA

Delancey is a hip pizzeria in the Seattle neighbourhood of Ballard owned by husband-and-wife team, Brandon Pettit and Molly Wizenberg. I first came upon Delancey while researching online for the top pizzerias in the Seattle area in preparation for my recent trip to Seattle. On previous visits to Seattle, I had already been to both Serious Pie locations to sample Tom Douglas’ artisan pizzas. While the artisan pies from Serious Pie tasted fine, they were not really my style. My preference is for more Neapolitan-style pies.

When I was visiting Seattle a couple of weeks ago, I was really excited to check out Delancey for their wood-fired pizza as I had learnt that their style was more Neo-Neapolitan or better yet described as Napoli meets New York but with Pacific Northwest influence.  Since my friend C and I were planning to hit other spots later on that evening, we decided to get just one pie to share. We tried the Crimini ($12), which was topped with crimini mushroom, fresh mozzarella, fresh thyme, and olive oil.

The pizza did not fail to impress. The crust had nice leoparding on the bottom. The cornicione had some nice blistering and charring. Since Delancey’s pies are not true Neapolitan-style, the center was not soft and floppy. Instead, the crust was thin, airy, and light. It was crisp but not so crisp to be cracker-like. It was more of a delicate eggshell-like crispness and had just the right amount of chewiness. I really enjoyed the fresh thyme on the pizza as it paired nicely with the mushroom. This pie was definitely a winner and I’d definitely go back to Delancey’s on my next visit to Seattle.

To me, Delancey does live up to the hype. After sampling this pie, I was actually tempted to order a second but had to refrain myself as I had other places to visit on my eating schedule. One thing to note is that Delancey is only open for dinner and my recommendation would be to go right at 5pm when they open if you do not want to wait for a table. This place is hugely popular amongst the locals. When we arrived shortly after 5:15pm on a Friday evening, we were lucky to secure one of the last tables. Another noteworthy tip is that they are willing to do half-half pizzas. I didn’t realize that under after we had ordered otherwise, I would have wanted to try half our pie with different toppings. While my top favourite pizzerias are still Apizza Scholls in Portland and Pizzeria Delfina in San Francisco, this pie from Delancey certainly ranks up there as one of the more memorable pies that I’ve ever had.

Delancey
1415 NW 70th St
Seattle, WA
(206) 838-1960

http://www.delanceyseattle.com

This entry was posted in American, Dinner, eat, Italian, Pizza, Seattle, Washington and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

