Visit #2 – Smashburger – Calgary, AB

After attending the pre-opening of the first Canadian Smashburger location in early May, I decided to head back there again for lunch a couple of weeks later as a paying customer to try some of their other menu items.

One of my dining companions ordered the Classic Smashchicken ($7.49). She had a choice between grilled or crispy for the chicken. She chose the grilled version to be more healthy. The Classic Smashchicken came with a piece of hand pounded 100% all-white meat chicken and the toppings included a slice of red onion, pickles, lettuce, tomato, and mayo on a multi-grain bun. The chicken was tender and well-seasoned. However, compared to the all beef Smashburgers, I definitely thought the all beef Smashburgers were more memorable flavour-wise.

My other dining companion ordered a BIG (half pound) Classic Smashburger ($5.99 for regular; $6.99 for big; $6.99 for double). The burger came topped with processed cheddar cheese, lettuce, tomato, ketchup, onion, pickles, the signature “smash sauce” on an egg bun. The smash sauce is a mixture of mayo, mustard, lemon juice, and chopped pickles. I had a taste of this burger and interestingly, compared to the one that I had at the pre-opening event, I thought the patty on this one was a bit dry.

I ordered a regular-sized (one-third pound) Mushroom Swiss Smashburger ($6.99 for regular; $7.99 for big; $7.99 for double). The Mushroom Swiss burger, as the name suggests was topped with garlic sautéed mushrooms, Swiss cheese, and mayo and was served on an egg bun. Out of the three burgers that we ordered, my dining companions and I agreed that this one was the favourite on this visit. Because of the Swiss cheese and sautéed mushrooms, this burger tasted more juicy and moist.

We shared an order of the Sweet Potato Smashfries ($2.99), which consisted of sweet potato fries tossed with rosemary, olive oil and garlic. The Sweet Potato Smashfries
are basically a mash-up of the two sides that I tried on my last visit. At the pre-opening event, I had tried the Smashfries, which consisted of shoe string cut russet potatoes seasoned with rosemary, olive oil and garlic as well as the Sweet Potato Fries, which were plain and seasoned with sea salt. I actually thought the rosemary and garlic complemented the sweet potato well in the Sweet Potato Smashfries.

I also ordered a Classic Vanilla Milkshake ($4.99), that is made with Cochrane’s famous MacKay’s ice cream. Since I had a sample taste of the Classic Vanilla at the pre-opening, I knew this shake would be a winner and it did not disappoint. I would say this is one of the best shakes that I’ve had in a long time.  On this visit, I shared the milkshake with my dining companions. It’s too bad the shake is so large and filling that I surely would not be able to finish the shake and a burger in one sitting. But I love the shake so much that I’d drive across town just to get one if I was craving it.

Overall, my dining companions and I enjoyed our meal at Smashburger. Since we arrived in the mid-afternoon on a Sunday, the restaurant was busy enough but not totally packed. so we managed to get our food fairly quickly. I’m looking forward to the opening of the second Smashburger location in Northwest Calgary as it will be much more convenient for me to go and satisfy my burger and shake cravings.

Smashburger
#4, 2770 32 Avenue NE
Calgary, AB
(403) 250-3156

http://www.smashburger.com

This entry was posted in Alberta, American, Calgary, eat, Lunch and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

