Cookievonster – Vancouver, BC

I would never have known about this online artisan bakery to get home-baked specialty goodies if it weren’t for the hostess of my friend’s bridal shower. Through word of mouth, the hostess had heard raves reviews about Cookievonster and decided to go with them for her order of baked goods for the bridal shower.

Cookievonster is known for creating amazing custom cookies, 3D cookies, as well as baked goods such as cupcakes and traditional cookies. The hostess of the bridal shower ended up ordering three types of traditional cookies and three different flavours of cupcakes. The three types of cookies included Mini Chocolate Marbled Peanut Butter Cookies with Caramel, Mini Shortbread with Raspberry Buttercream, and Cookievonster’s signature Cream Cheese Chocolate Fudge Cookies. The cookies were delicious! I liked that they were not too sweet. My favourite was the Mini Shortbread with Raspberry Buttercream.

But what really impressed me the most were actually the cupcakes. The three kinds of cupcakes included Vanilla Cupcake with Lemon Curd & Raspberry Buttercream Frosting, Apple Cupcake with Caramel Buttercream Frosting, and Vanilla Cupcake with Chocolate Frosting. The star of the show for me was definitely the Vanilla Cupcake filled with Lemon Curd & topped with Raspberry Buttercream Frosting.  Normally, I’m not a huge fan of cupcakes as I generally find them to be too sweet. This one, however, was just perfect. I loved the tartness and bright flavours of the lemon curd against the vanilla cake. And I could really taste the raspberry flavour in the frosting. I was impressed that the raspberry frosting actually was a bit tart and not overly sweet. I would say this is one of the best cupcakes I’ve had in a long time. I also tried the Apple Cupcake with Caramel Buttercream Frosting. Personally, I found the caramel buttercream frosting to be a bit too sweet for my liking. I did however enjoy the apple chunks in the cake. This is more of a personal preference as many of the guests at the bridal shower really enjoyed the Apple Cupcake. Both the cupcakes that I tasted were really moist and I like that the frosting was really light.

Overall though, I will say all these baked goodies from Cookievonster were not overly sweet compared to what one might typically find at bakeries and cupcake shops. If I were in the Vancouver area and needed to order baked goods for an event, Cookievonster would be my top choice. Even though Cookievonster is known for their amazing cookies, I personally thought it was the cupcakes that really were the winner. All the guests at the bridal shower loved the cookies and cupcakes so much that it all disappeared in no time.

Cookievonster
(604)327-6027

@Cookievonster

http://www.facebook.com/CookievonsterCustomCookies

http://www.cookievonster.com

This entry was posted in American, British Columbia, Dessert, eat, Snack, Vancouver and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Cookievonster – Vancouver, BC

  1. Evon says:

    Oh My! I just found your blog and the most lovely write up about Cookievonster. Thank you so kindly, and I am so happy that you enjoyed the cupcakes and cookies.
    Thank you and big Hugs!

Leave a Reply

