Juree’s Thai Place – Calgary, AB

My friends and I decided to try Juree’s Thai Place awhile back as we kept on hearing great things about it. The restaurant is located in the spot that once was home to a Burger King. The owners have done a great job transforming the place into a Thai eatery so remnants of the old BK are barely recognizable. The decor inside actually feels quite tropical as the restaurant is filled with a jungle of greenery.

Our first dish was the Yellow Curry with Squid ($15). This was a dish my friend G wanted to try. The dish consisted of squid, onion, celery, red and green pepper, yellow curry and coconut milk. I really enjoyed the bright flavours of the curry but found the squid to be quite chewy and rubbery. It is unfortunate that this is the only yellow curry dish on the menu. I would order the yellow curry again if the main ingredient was something else other than squid. I just find that squid is way to easy to overcook when simmering in a sauce. Our server had suggested that we order our dishes hot (spicy) and we took her advice. Surprisingly, this dish wasn’t very spicy at all even though we had ordered it hot.  It had a nice amount of heat to balance the flavours.

Our second dish was the Green Curry with Chicken ($14). The first thing I noticed was that the ingredients in the dish was not necessarily the most authentic as there was a mixture of vegetables in the curry I typically wouldn’t associate with Thai food such as zucchini, broccoli, peas, and carrots. I was, however, impressed with the flavours of the green curry. The flavours were bright, complex, and really delicious. And the pieces of chicken were tender. I would definitely order this dish again on my next visit. Again, though we ordered this dish hot (spicy), it wasn’t that spicy at all.

Our third dish was the Thai Fried Noodle/Pad Thai ($13). The dish consisted of  rice noodles stir fried with pork, prawn, egg, cubes of tofu, green onion, bean sprouts, and radish in a tangy sauce made with tamarind and fish sauce. I was pleasantly surprised at how well this dish was executed. Normally, I’m not a huge fan of pad thai as I find the noodles are too often gummy and greasy. The flavours in the noodles were spot on. The noodles were toothsome and not gummy nor greasy. My only quibble is that I wish they would be more generous with the portion and the ingredients. A third of the plate was taken up by the garnish and little plates of condiments. Also, there were only two shrimp in the whole dish. Other than that, I was actually quite impressed with this dish and it was my favourite of the evening.

We ordered a large order of the Coconut Rice ($4 for small; $6 for large). The rice was nicely cooked and fluffy. It was nice that I could actually taste a strong coconut flavour in the rice.

I must admit that I didn’t have high expectations when I first arrived. I had read some good reviews about this place but in the back of my mind, I didn’t expect this place to be very authentic. In some ways, my suspicions were confirmed as this place is geared more towards Western palates. The biggest giveaway was the level of heat in the dishes. At some of the authentic Thai places I’ve been to, I can barely handle “medium” heat. But here when we asked for “hot”, it wasn’t even that spicy at all. To me, their version of “hot” would considered “mild” at the authentic Thai places. Regardless of authenticity, overall, I enjoyed my experience at Juree’s. And I definitely will be back for the pad thai as it is one of the better versions that I’ve had in Calgary.

Juree’s Thai Place
2055 16 Ave NW
Calgary, AB
(403) 264-6477

http://thaiplacegroups.com

This entry was posted in Alberta, Calgary, Dinner, eat, Thai and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

