Little Yum – Calgary, AB

When I met up with my food blogger friend, Anna of Anna’s Appetite, for brunch a couple of weeks ago, she mentioned that there was a new stall that had just opened up at the Calgary Farmer’s Market focusing on macarons. I was curious so we decided to head there to check it out after having brunch. As it turns out, this new stall was Little Yum and it is the little sister to Yum Bakery, which is also located at the Calgary Farmer’s Market.

While the Yum Bakery stall sells a variety of pastries and desserts, Little Yum mainly focuses on mini cupcakes and macarons. There were macarons of all different colors and flavours. This was certainly an impressive display of macarons as there were 30 different varieties. The macarons sold for $1.75 each, $10.50 for a half dozen, or $21 for a dozen.

I decided to get a six-pack of macarons so that I could try the following flavours:

  • mango
  • blueberry
  • salted caramel
  • pistachio
  • sour cherry
  • Saskatoon berry

First, I tried the mango macaron. The flavour was nice and bright but it had textural problems. The meringue exterior was really crunchy and hard. This is the first time I’ve had a macaron that was this crunchy (it was like a hard cookie) and it did not have the slightly soft and chewy interior that I was expecting.  Next, the blueberry macaron had a great tangy, blueberry flavour. But again, it suffered from textural problems like the mango macaron. The meringue exterior of the blueberry macaron was just as crunchy and hard. And it did not have the slightly soft and chewy interior that I was expecting. Third, I tried the salted caramel. Finally, I tasted a macaron from Little Yum that was flawless. It had a delicate, crisp egg-shell exterior that was slightly soft and chewy on the inside. Flavour-wise, it was quite salty which I liked as it balanced out the sweetness of the caramel. This turned out to be my favourite out of the lot that I tried. Next up was the pistachio. It had a delicate, crisp egg-shell exterior that was slightly soft and chewy on the inside. The pistachio flavour was really pronounced in the meringue and I could really taste the nuttiness of the pistachio in the filling as well. My least favourite out of the lot turned out the be the sour cherry. I had high hopes for it as I’m a huge fan of sour cherry. However, this sour cherry macaron did not taste sour at all. It wasn’t even the least bit tangy. It was too sweet for my liking and again, suffered from textural problems like the mango and blueberry. Again, the meringue exterior was way too hard and crunchy with no slightly soft interior. Last but not least, I had the Saskatoon. Appearance-wise, the Saskatoon one wasn’t as smooth as it could be. In fact, it looked rather lumpy. But texture-wise, it was spot on. It had a delicate, crisp egg-shell exterior that was slightly soft and chewy on the inside. The Saskatoon flavour was strong and bright. I’d definitely get this one again.

Overall, I have to admit that I was slightly disappointed with the quality of these macarons. Though the flavours were great for most of the them, 3 out of the 6 macarons that I sampled had textural problems. I had high hopes and was really looking forward to the great flavour selection that they have. I’ll probably wait a while before going back to try them again. Hopefully by then, they will have ironed out these quality issues.

Little Yum / Yum Bakery
Calgary Farmer’s Market
510 77 Avenue SE
Calgary, AB
(403)472-1296

http://yum-bakery.com

This entry was posted in Alberta, Calgary, eat, French, Snack and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

