Snacks @ The Summer Night Market – Richmond, BC

When I was visiting Vancouver back in June, I decided to visit the night markets in Richmond as it is kind of a novelty since there very few of these kind of night markets outside of Asia. These night markets in Richmond are seasonal and operate during the evenings on weekends and holidays only. For the past few years, there has only been one summer night market in Richmond. But this year there are actually two summer night markets. The original founder of the Richmond Night Market has set up a second night market near Bridgeport Skytrain Station in Richmond.

On this visit, I went to the Summer Night Market at the original location. I’d been to this night market a couple of times over the past few years but had never tried any of the food stalls as the food didn’t seem all that appealing to me on my previous visits. But after seeing some of my friend’s photos of the food from the night market last summer, I was determined to give a few of the stalls a try on this visit. There were quite a few food stalls serving up Asian street food and snacks at the night market so it was hard to decide on what to try. I decided to let my friend C lead as she’d been to the night market numerous times and have tried various stalls.

We first stopped off at the Original Hurricane Potato Fries stall. We actually had a bit of trouble locating this stall at first as there are now several stalls offering a similar product. The Hurricane Potato Fries basically consists of a potato that has been sliced using a special tool so that when you put it a stick through it and stretch it out, it is one continuous piece like a helical spiral. After being deep-fried, the sticks of hurricane potato fries are rolled in your choice of seasoning.

We got two of the Hurricane Potato Fries ($3 for one; $5 for two). The flavours we chose were sour cream & onion and parmesan garlic. Many of my friends have raved about these hurricane potato fries but I didn’t think they were that exceptional. Actually I found them to be a bit on the greasy side. The potato wasn’t as crisp as it could be.

Next, we hit up the Mango Yummy stall. This is one of my friend C’s favourite stalls at The Summer Night Market. It’s no secret that I love all things mango so this stall was right up my alley. This stall offers both beverages made with mango as well as bowls of desserts/sweet soups with mango. The bowls of dessert were similar to the ones available at 100% Healthy Dessert, which is one of my favourite places for dessert in Richmond.

We opted for the Fresh Mango Sago Pomelo ($5) as this was my friend C’s favourite drink at the night market. I was really hoping that this mango drink would be as good if not better than the version that I had at Creations Dessert House in San Francisco last summer. This version from Mango Yummy contained chunks of fresh mango, coconut milk, pomelo and sago pearls. Unfortunately, the fresh mango wasn’t quite in season yet and it was quite a bit tangier and more acidic than I had expected. Overall, the drink was just ok. It could have tasted so much better if the mangoes were ripe and sweet.

I’m glad I finally got to try a few of the food stalls at The Summer Night Market. But personally, I thought the quality of the food was just ok. Neither of the items I tried had much of a wow factor. Personally, I actually like the food and snacks better from many of the food court stalls, such as the ones at Richmond Public Market, President Plaza, Empire Center, and Admiralty Center.

The Summer Night Market
12631 Vulcan Way
Richmond, BC

http://www.summernightmarket.com

This entry was posted in British Columbia, Chinese, eat, Late Night, Richmond, Snack and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

