Macaron Sampling – Yann Haute Patisserie – Calgary, AB

After having sampled a bunch of macarons from Little Yum a couple of weeks ago, I happen to be near Yann Haute Patisserie this past weekend and decided to stop in a get a few macarons to see how they compare. I’d tried the macarons from Yann Haute previously and really enjoyed them. It had been a while since I’ve had them so I was curious whether they are just as good as the ones before.

In terms of selection, Yann Haute has about 12 different flavours of macarons at any given time unless they sell out some of the flavours.  Most of the flavours are part of their permanent macaron collection. The macarons are sold for $1.85 each. While they are slightly more expensive than the ones from Little Yum, which sell for $1.75 each, these macarons from Yann Haute are slightly larger.  I decided to get six different flavours to try. The ones that I chose were:

  • Hazelnut
  • Blackcurrant & Violet
  • Salted Caramel
  • PBJ
  • Passion Fruit
  • Dark Chocolate Habanero

First I tried the Hazelnut macaron. It was delicious! I could really taste the intense hazelnut flavour as it was made with fresh ground hazelnuts.  It had a delicate, crisp egg-shell exterior that was slightly soft and chewy on the inside. Next was the Blackcurrant & Violet. The texture was just as perfect – it had a delicate egg-shell exterior with a slightly soft and chewy interior. At first I was worried that the violet would be too floral but to my pleasant surprise the violet flavour was very mild. I really enjoyed the blackcurrant jelly filling as it was very fruity and not too sweet. Next up was the Salted Caramel. Again, the texture was perfect. It was quite salty which I liked as it balanced out the sweetness of the caramel. The caramel flavour was very prominent in both the filling and the meringue. The fourth macaron I tasted as the PBJ (Peanut Butter Jelly). The texture of the meringue was great and I enjoyed the peanut butter and jelly filling. Even with the salty-sweet combination of the peanut butter and jelly, I found this one to be quite sweet. Next was the Passion Fruit. The passion fruit flavour was intense and I enjoyed the brightness and tanginess of the passion fruit. The texture was again spot on. Lastly, I had the Dark Chocolate Habanero. This was one of the special feature flavours. I really liked the creaminess and intense chocolate flavour of the filling. Because of the Habanero, this macaron was quite a bit spicier than I had anticipated but still within the level of heat that I could handle. If you can’t handle any heat at all, this macaron is not for you. The spiciness of the Habanero was nicely balanced with the creaminess of the dark chocolate. Texture-wise, it was perfect again.

Just as before, I was really impressed with all six of the macarons that I tried from Yann Haute on this visit. The flavours and textures were spot on for all of them. Yann Haute is definitely my go to place for macarons. They have been very consistent with the quality of their macarons time and time again.

(clockwise from top-left) Hazelnut; Blackcurrant & Violet; Salted Caramel; PBJ; Passion Fruit; Dark Chocolate Habanero

Yann Haute Patisserie
329 23 Ave SW
Calgary, AB
(403) 244-8091

http://yannboutique.com

This entry was posted in Alberta, Calgary, Dessert, eat, French, Snack and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

