Brunch @ Brasserie Kensington – Calgary, AB

My food blogger friend Anna of Anna’s Appetite and I tried out Brasserie Kensington for brunch yesterday. Brasserie Kensington is located down the street from one of its sister restaurants, Muse Restaurant & Lounge, and upstairs from its other sister establishment, Winebar Kensington. I’d been to both Muse and Winebar Kensington before in the past but this was my first time to Brasserie Kensington. I had heard that Brasserie Kensington is well-known for its duck fat fried frites and poutine. We wanted to try the poutine but it was a bit too heavy for brunch.

Initially, both my friend Anna and I had our hearts set on the Duck Confit Omelet. But we changed our minds immediately, when our server told us that the daily special omelet was the Badass Omelet ($18), which consisted of fresh chanterelles, braised pork belly, and foie gras. We decided to get one of each to share so we would both be able to sample the Badass Omelet and the Duck Confit Omelet. The Badass Omelet was a winner! I loved the tender chanterelles and savoury pork belly pieces in the omelet. The slices of foie gras on top made it even more decadent. This omelet was amazing and easily one of the best I’ve had in Calgary to date. The omelet was served with slices of rye toast, crispy fried potatoes, and fresh fruit.

The Duck Confit Omelet ($16) contained diced tomato and goat cheese and again, was served with slices of rye toast, fried potatoes, and fresh fruit. To my surprise, the duck confit in the omelet was crazy salty. And normally, I enjoy quite a bit of salt in my food. We were both relieved that we were sharing as I’m not sure I would have been able to eat more than half of this omelet due to the saltiness of the duck. I usually love duck confit but this is the salitiest duck confit I’ve ever had. I enjoyed the tanginess of the goat cheese chunks but in this case the goat cheese also contributed to the overall saltiness of the omelet, which normally would have been fine if the duck wasn’t over the top salty. Hopefully, this was an anomaly and the duck confit will be less salty on my next visit.

We finished off brunch by sharing the Granita Sampler ($7), which consisted of two kinds of granita plated with some fresh fruit. This was a great palate cleanser and a really refreshing way to end off our meal. The watermelon granita had an intense sweet watermelon flavour, just like eating really ripe fresh watermelon. It was a touch too sweet for me but my friend Anna loved it. The second was the lime granita, which was very tart and had intense lime flavour. It was a bit too tart for my friend Anna but I found it to be just perfect.

There is no doubt that the stand out dish for me was the Badass Omelet. It’s too bad this omelet was a daily special and is not available as part of their regular brunch repertoire.  My mouth is starting to water just thinking about it! Another great thing about Brasserie Kensington is that they take reservations, even for brunch. This is really important to me since I’m not particularly fond of waiting in line for hours to get a table for brunch.

Brasserie Kensington
1131 Kensington Rd NW
Calgary, AB
(403) 457-4148

http://brasseriekensington.com

This entry was posted in Alberta, Breakfast/Brunch, Calgary, eat, French and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Brunch @ Brasserie Kensington – Calgary, AB

  1. Lindsay says:

    Wow, looks like a great brunch. I didn’t actually realize that they offered brunch at Brasserie Kensington.

    Do you think that one person could eat an entire badass omelet? Or would it be too rich?

    • miss.foodie says:

      Yes, without a doubt one person could eat an entire badass omelet. Between the two of us, we did end up with a whole omelet each (half the duck omelet and half the badass). The foie gras wasn’t overly rich as there were only two slices. Hope you get a chance to try the badass omelet soon. 🙂

  2. Anonymous says:

    Hey would you mind letting me know which hosting company you’re working with?
    I’ve loaded your blog in 3 different browsers and I
    must say this blog loads a lot faster then most. Can you suggest a good hosting provider at a fair
    price? Thanks a lot, I appreciate it!

Leave a Reply

