Snack Crawl #1 (Part 1) – Notturno Paninoteca – Vancouver, BC

While visiting Vancouver earlier this month, I met up with my food friend Grayelf for lunch. Instead of choosing one specific destination for lunch, we decided to do a snack crawl around Vancouver’s Downtown Eastside area. Our first stop was Notturno Paninoteca. I’d tried it for the first time while visiting Vancouver earlier this year and totally loved their panini sandwiches as well as the charming ambience of this little eatery.

On this visit, Grayelf and I shared the Fumo Panini ($9.50), which was filled with speck (smoked prosciutto), grappa poached pear slices, greens, and taleggio cheese. The owner, Scott, was even nice enough to plate our panini on separate plates and split the accompanying salad for us since we were sharing. The Fumo had been on my list of things to try but we hadn’t on our first visit as they were out of taleggio cheese.

The combination of flavours in the Fumo worked well together. I liked that the grappa poached pear was subtle and delicate and did not overpower the other flavours. On our first visit to Notturno, we had tried the Tartufo and the Blu Fico. Comparatively, though the Fumo was really tasty, both Grayelf and I preferred the flavours in the Tartufo more.  And for myself, my ultimate favourite is the Blu Fico which contains a blue cheese aioli, caramelized fig, walnut, and black olive as I love fig, blue cheese, and olives.

On each visit to Vancouver, I like to revisit my favourite places as well as try new ones. This snack crawl enabled me to hit up as many places as my tummy would allow in a short time. Notturno Paninoteca is definitely on my list of favourites. In recent months, they have expanded their menu to include charcuterie boards and salads. They have even introduced a dessert panini made from Erin Ireland’s To Die For banana bread and is filled with chocolate mascarpone and served with a scoop of vanilla gelato. This dessert panini sounds delicious and is definitely now on my list of things to try for my next visit to Vancouver.

Notturno Paninoteca
280 Carrall St
Vancouver, BC
(604) 720-3145

http://notturnopaninoteca.com

This entry was posted in British Columbia, eat, Lunch, Meal, Snack, Vancouver and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

