Passion for Pork Lunch @ CHARCUT Roast House – Calgary, AB

Earlier this week, I went to CHARCUT Roast House for lunch. It is Passion for Pork Restaurant Week this week in Calgary from October 15 -21. To celebrate, a number of restaurants around Calgary have featured pork dishes. CHARCUT has been one of my favourite places to go for lunch (Visit #1, Visit #2, Visit #3, Visit #4, and Visit #5). I’ve always like their Lunch All at Once set menu combinations as the items change daily so there is always something new and tasty to look forward to. Since it was Passion for Pork Restaurant Week, CHARCUT featured two pork items for their Lunch All at Once set menu combinations this week:

  • CHARCUT PLT – House made back bacon, wild arugula, heirloom tomatoes, salsa verde aioli
  • Porchetta Rotisserie – Flavoured with rosemary, garlic, fennel and lemon hand carved and served with parmesan fries

We started off our lunch at a complimentary amuse bouche consisting of house cured Sicilian sausage topped with some Grana Padano cheese. This was a tasty bite to start off our meal.

One of my dining companions ordered the Rotisserie ‘Lunch All at Once’ ($25), which featured the Porchetta Rotisserie. The hand carved porchetta rotisserie was seasoned with rosemary, garlic, fennel, and lemon and was served with a wedge of grilled lemon, a roasted garlic bulb, and some house made grainy mustard. The lunch set came with some house made parmesan fries and an arugula salad topped with crispy fried onion and a Tabasco buttermilk dressing. In addition to the bag of cookies which is included in all the set lunches, the $25 set menu also included a cup of coffee to go. Though this porchetta was tasty, I would say my favourite porchetta is still the version from Meat & Bread in Vancouver.

I went with the other ‘Lunch At at Once’ Set Menu ($15). This combo featured the CHARCUT PLT sandwich along with a bowl of Daily Soup. The CHARCUT PLT was amazing! It had just the right combination of flavours. The sandwich contained house made back bacon, wild arugula, heirloom tomatoes, and was finished with a salsa verde aioli. I loved the smokiness of the house made back bacon. Like always, the Foccacia bread for the sandwich was soft and fresh. Of all the sandwiches I’ve had at CHARCUT for lunch, I would say this CHARCUT PLT is my second favourite after the amazing CHARCUT reuben that I had last year. The Daily Soup was cauliflower and Gruyère and it was topped with a brioche crostini. The soup was delicious and easily of the best cauliflower soups that I’ve had. I liked that it was silky and smooth. This version was a tad thinner than thick, creamy version that I loved from Toulouse Petit in Seattle last year but the flavours were still spot on and paired perfectly with the PLT sandwich. Of all the soups that I’ve tried at CHARCUT to date, this cauliflower and Gruyère soup is my second favourite after the Clam Chowder that I had during my very first visit to CHARCUT last year.

After trying some of the house made back bacon from my sandwich, my dining companion who ordered the porchetta rotisserie declared that between the two pork features, the CHARCUT PLT was the winner. And I wholeheartedly agree with his assessment. The porchetta was good but the house made back bacon was exceptional. The CHARCUT PLT along with the cauliflower and Gruyère soup was definitely a winning combination. And the bag of house made chocolate chip cookies was the perfect way to finish off this winning lunch combo.

CHARCUT Roast House
#101, 899 Centre Street SW
Calgary, AB
(403) 984-2180

http://www.charcut.com

This entry was posted in Alberta, American, Calgary, eat, Lunch and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

