Cheezy Bizness Food Truck – Calgary, AB

After reading some great reviews about Cheezy Bizness, I was really looking forward to trying it out. Cheezy Bizness is one of the 20 plus new food trucks that joined Calgary’s food truck scene earlier this summer. As the name of the truck suggests, Cheezy Bizness’ claim to fame is their gourmet grilled cheese sandwiches, which are made using ingredients from local producers such as Spragg’s Meat Shop, Silver Sage Beef, Gull Valley Tomatoes, and Sylvan Star Farms. Their bread is supplied by Yum Bakery.

I decided to try the Kimchikaze ($9.50), which was filled with in truck made pastrami, kimchi and topped with a sriracha mayo and gruyere. The sandwich tasted ok though it was a bit on the greasy side. I’m well aware that the sandwich was supposedly made with gourmet local ingredients but to me, it just wasn’t memorable and was more of a sloppy mess. Given the price point, I was really hoping for a sandwich that had a wow factor like the Porchetta Sandwich from Meat & Bread in Vancouver, the Pork Belly Cubano from Bunk Sandwiches in Portland or even any of the sandwiches from Cowtown Beef Shack here in Calgary. Again, as with many of the food trucks, I thought the sandwiches were a couple of bucks overpriced for what we actually get. If they were priced around $6-7,  I could see myself going back. But at $9.50 each, I can think of more delicious lunch options at that price point that are better value, more filling, and more tasty. I’m glad I finally got to try them out but I’m not sure I would go out of my way to seek them out again.

Cheezy Bizness Food Truck
http://www.cheezybizness.com

@cheezybiz

This entry was posted in Alberta, American, Calgary, eat, Lunch and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

