Snack Crawl #2 (Part 1) – Meat & Bread – Vancouver, BC

Since my foodie friend Grayelf and I had so much fun on our snack crawl the first day to Notturno Paninoteca, Fat Dragon Bar-B-Q, Big Lou’s Butcher Shop, and Cadeaux Bakery during my visit to Vancouver last month, we decided to go on a second snack crawl for lunch the very next day. Our first stop was to my favourite sandwich shop in Gastown, Meat & Bread. Ever since I tried the porchetta sandwich at Meat & Bread for the first time last year, I just can’t get enough of it. The purpose of this visit to Meat & Bread was two-fold. First, it was to satisfy my porchetta craving as I have not managed to find anything that can compare in Calgary and so I must get my fix every time I visit Vancouver. Secondly, both Grayelf and I were curious how this version actually compares to the tasty one that we had just tried the previous day at Big Lou’s Butcher Shop.

The Porchetta Sandwich ($8) was just as good as I had remembered. Though this version was a bit smaller in size than the one from Big Lou’s Butcher Shop, it doesn’t bother me as I always care more about quality and taste over quantity. The ciabatta bun was fresh like always. It’s all a matter of personal preference, but I like the tartness from the salsa verde on this porchetta sandwich a touch more than the chimmichurri on the one from Big Lou’s and I also find this version to be a bit more flavourful. Overall, I would say this version edges out the one from Big Lou’s by just a touch. Big Lou’s gets top marks for the bread they use but I prefer porchetta flavour from Meat & Bread.

Meat & Bread
370 Cambie Street
Vancouver, BC
(604) 566-9003

http://meatandbread.ca

This entry was posted in American, British Columbia, eat, Snack, Vancouver and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

