Snack Crawl #2 (Part 3) – Well Tea – Vancouver, BC

After snacking at Meat & Bread and Catch 122 Cafe Bistro, both located in the Gastown area, my foodie friend Grayelf and I decided to head west. We had already covered the area east of Gastown on our first Snack Crawl to Notturno Paninoteca, Fat Dragon Bar-B-Q, Big Lou’s Butcher Shop, and Cadeaux Bakery the previous day. As we headed towards the west part of downtown, Grayelf suggested that we stop in at Well Tea so I could try one of her new favourite drinks. Well Tea is a local Taiwanese bubble tea chain with locations in downtown Vancouver, UBC, and Richmond. I’ll be first to admit that I’m usually not a bubble tea fan. In fact, over the years I’ve probably found less than a handful of bubble tea beverages that I’ve really enjoyed. To me, most of the versions that I’ve had are usually too sweet or too artificial tasting. Nonetheless, I was willing to be open-minded and give Well Tea a try.

Well Tea is actually a sit down restaurant that offers a lot more than just bubble tea. They offer Taiwanese style noodle and rice dishes along with various classic Taiwanese snacks such as deep-fried chicken nuggets and deep-fried pork in red fermented sauce. Well Tea even has a section of the menu dedicated to vegetarian dishes.

Grayelf recommended that I try her new favourite drink, the Sour Plum Green Tea with Mango Stars ($4.50 for the tea; $0.50 extra for mango stars). I was actually quite impressed at how tasty and refreshing this sour plum green tea was. I liked that it was not overly sweet. In fact, some of the flavours in the drink reminded me of Chinese dried preserved plums (hua mui). I would say those Chinese dried preserved plums are definitely an acquired taste and I’ve never really acquired a taste for them so I was actually surprised that the flavours in this drink really grew on me. I liked how the sourness and tanginess of the tea helped to offset the sweetness of the mango stars. It was the perfect balance of sweet and sour. I’m really glad Grayelf got me to try it as sour plum would probably be the last flavour I would ever pick for bubble tea if it weren’t for her recommendation.  It may sound crazy but I actually started to develop a craving for this sour plum bubble tea, especially on really hot days or when I’m really thirsty. This was definitely a great find and I’m looking forward to trying Sour Plum Green Tea at other bubble tea places in the future.

Well Tea
551 Seymour Street
Vancouver, BC
(604) 681-9777

http://www.welltea.ca

This entry was posted in British Columbia, drink, Snack, Taiwanese, Vancouver and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

