Waffles and Chix Food Truck – Calgary, AB

Waffles and Chix Food Truck made its debut in Calgary in late September. I had no idea Calgary was getting a food truck specializing in Southern Fried Chicken and Belgian Waffles. I just happen to stumble across their tweet one day. Since I’m a fiend for fried chicken, I was so excited to try them out. Despite the chilly temperatures that one day in early October, I convinced one of my coworkers to go with me. The line up wasn’t bad at all on the day we went since it was just Waffles and Chix’s second week of operations and not many people had known about them yet.

The menu for Waffles and Chix is actually quite concise. You have a choice of either Belgian Waffle or Poutine and each can be topped with either Southern Fried Chicken or Southern Fried Shrimps. For dessert, Waffles and Chix offers sweet Belgian waffles.

Both my coworker and I opted for the classic combination, Southern Fried Chicken & Waffle ($9), which consisted of boneless buttermilk fried chicken pieces on top of a Belgian waffle. The whole thing was topped with white gravy & maple syrup. The flavours for both the waffle and fried chicken were spot on. I was surprised at how tender and juicy the chicken pieces were. One word of advice is that the chicken and waffle must be eaten as quickly as possible after they prepare it. Because of the chilly temperature, my coworker and I grabbed our food and trekked down to the Devonian Gardens to eat since there was not really a suitable indoor seating area around 8th St and 8 Ave SW, which was where the truck was hanging out that day. As a result of the piping hot waffle being in the enclosed box for the trek, the waffle was not as crisp as I would have preferred. In fact, it was a little soggy. But this was entirely our fault, not theirs since we walked with it for a good five blocks. But I still loved the flavour of the waffle nonetheless. I can only imagine how much better it would have tasted had we eaten it right away when it was still fresh and crisp. I was also pleasantly surprised at how tasty the white gravy in combination with the maple syrup was. Normally, I’m not a huge fan of white gravy but in this case, the combination really works.

Out of all the food trucks I’ve tried in Calgary to date, Waffles and Chix is by far my new favourite. This is one of the few food trucks that I would actually go out of my way to track them down. Though their prices are still a bit on the high side like most of the other food trucks, I think in this case, it’s worth it as there is no one else in town that makes fried chicken and waffles the way they do. And also, the portion we got was actually quite filling. My only wish is that they would eventually come up with a spicy version of the fried chicken as I’m crazy for spicy fried chicken and it’s rather hard to find places that do it well.

Waffles and Chix
(403) 612-6610

http://www.wafflesandchix.com

@wafflesandchix

This entry was posted in Alberta, American, Calgary, eat, Lunch and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Waffles and Chix Food Truck – Calgary, AB

  1. Lindsay says:

    Wow, that looks great! I heard about them opening but haven’t been able to try their stuff yet.

  2. Meagan rose says:

    Is this place good? I was at the carifest today and they had a waffles and chix truck. I wanted to try it but I didn’t know if it would be good or not. I love fried chicken!

Leave a Reply

