Pio Peruvian Rotisserie Chicken – Calgary, AB

A couple of months back, I convinced my coworkers to try Pio Peruvian Rotisserie Chicken with me. I was curious how Pio would compare to the other Peruvian place in town, Inti Restaurant, that I had previously tried.

On weekdays (Monday to Thursday), Pio has a lunch combo special – if you order one of the Pio chicken combos, you get a choice of a complimentary beverage such as  Jugo de Maracuya (Passionfruit juice), Chicha Morada, or pop. Chica Morada is described on the menu as a Peruvian Lemonade drink made from scratch using Peruvian purple corn. To me, it has a very unique flavour and tastes nothing like lemonade. The purple corn is typically boiled with pineapple, cinnamon, clove, and sugar. Compared to the version that I tried at Inti Restaurant, I found this version of Chicha Morada to be a lot milder in flavour. I would say that the flavour is definitely an acquired taste and I still don’t think I’ve acquired the taste for it yet as I’m not a fan of cinnamon and clove in a fruity beverage.

I ordered the Pio Con Quinoa Combo ($11.99), which consisted of a quarter Pio Rotisserie Chicken along with a side of Quinoa salad. For my choice of complimentary beverage, I chose the Passionfruit juice (Jugo de Maracuya), which was fruity, refreshing, and delicious. The Quinoa salad consisted of quinoa, avocado, broccoli, cucumber, mint, onions, red and green peppers mixed with house vinaigrette. It was really tasty and probably one of the best preparations of quinoa that I’ve had to date. I find myself craving this quinoa salad quite often. The rotisserie chicken itself was succulent, well-seasoned, and flavourful. Compared to the chicken that I had at Inti Restaurant, I actually liked this version from Pio better. Each of the chicken combos came with two kinds of Pio sauces – one that was similar to mayo and another that was a vibrant green colored dipping sauce similar to salsa verde know as huacatay (black-mint) sauce. For the green huacatay sauce, we had a choice of mild or spicy. I chose the spicy version but didn’t find to it be that spicy at all. The sauces were delicious and went perfectly with the rotisserie chicken.

One of my workers ordered the Pio Con Yucca Frita Combo ($10.99), which consisted of a quarter Pio rotisserie chicken served with Cassava Fries. The Cassava Fries (Yucca Frita) were crispy, toothsome and not that greasy at all.

Another one of my coworkers tried the Pio Con Camote Combo ($10.99). This combo was served with Sweet Potato Cakes as a side.

Lastly, my other coworker tried the Pio Con Salchipapa Combo ($11.49).  The quarter Pio rotisserie chicken was served with salchipapa fries, which basically consists of french fries and sausage slices.

Out of all the choices of sides to go with the Pio chicken, my favourite by far is the Quinoa Salad. It is well-seasoned and has the perfect combination of textures and flavours. Since this initial visit, I’ve actually been back to Pio a couple more times already because I’ve had a craving for the Quinoa Salad. To me, Pio is actually at relatively healthy lunch option with the rotisserie chicken and Quinoa Salad. The prices at Pio are reasonable and the service has been excellent.

Pio Peruvian Rotisserie Chicken
2929 Sunridge Way NE
Calgary, AB
(403) 681-7378

http://www.pioperu.com/

This entry was posted in Alberta, Calgary, eat, Lunch, Peruvian and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

