Suika Snackbar (revisited) – Vancouver, BC

Since I was so impressed with the lunch that I had at Suika Snackbar last summer, when I was visiting Vancouver last fall, I decided to have lunch there again. On this visit, there were four of us and we decided to order a number of items to share.

Like on my previous visit, we were given a bowl of complimentary salad to start.  The salad tasted just as good as before. The lettuce was crisp and fresh. The dressing was a slightly sweet and tangy Japanese vinaigrette. It was a refreshing way to start off our meal.

suika_salad

We started off again with an order of the Smoked Tuna Tataki with Home Made Chili Oil ($6), which was served on a bed of sliced onion and topped with scallions.  I liked that the home-made chili oil wasn’t overly spicy, which was good as it didn’t overpower the tuna.

suika_smoked_tuna_tataki2

Next, we tried the Assorted 5 Kinds of Sashimi ($19.80). This was my first time trying sashimi at Suika. Though it wasn’t particularly memorable, I was pleased that the sashimi was very fresh.

suika_assorted_5_kinds_sashimi

I suggested that we order the Beef Short Rib Set” ($16) again because I’d loved this dish so much on my previous visit. Just as before, the flavours were spot on for this dish and it was again my favourite dish of the meal. The beef short rib was fried and tossed in a sweet balsamic sauce and served with slices of potato. The beef was melt-in-your-mouth tender and just fell right off the bone. Though the sauce was sweet, it was not cloyingly sweet. In fact, it was very well-balanced and complex in flavour.

suika_beef_short_rib_set3

suika_beef_short_rib_set4Like before, the “Beef Short Rib Set” came with a small dish of kimchi, a bowl of miso soup and some rice.  Though this dish itself is already quite filling, the rice is handy to have if you can’t get enough of the yummy balsamic sauce as it acts as a great vehicle for eating the sauce. The miso soup tasted fine but wasn’t particularly memorable.

Lastly, one of my dining companions wanted to try the Ebi Chili Bowl Set ($9.80), which consisted of Szechwan style chili prawns tossed in home-made chili oil and served with scrambled egg on rice along with some tartar sauce. The set lunch came with a bowl of miso soup and some kimchi. Though this dish sounded interesting on paper, none of us at the table were particularly fond of it. In fact, it was our least favourite dish of the meal. I found that overall, there was way too much sauce and there was not enough contrasting textures. Also,  I didn’t think the tartar sauce worked well together with the sweet and spicy Szechwan sauce either.

suika_ebi_chili_bowl_set

Overall, this lunch at Suika was alright. There were some hits and some misses. By far, I think the must order item at Suika is the Beef Short Rib dish. I’m totally addicted to this dish now and would go out of my way to have this dish again at Suika.

Suika Snackbar
1626 W Broadway
Vancouver, BC
(604) 730-1678

http://www.suika-snackbar.com

This entry was posted in British Columbia, eat, Japanese, Lunch, Vancouver and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

