Bojangles’ vs Popeyes (Fried Chicken Face-off) – Atlanta, GA

As I was researching for my trip to the Atlanta area, I stumbled upon Bojangles’ when I was looking for a place for a quick lunch in the suburbs of Atlanta. Bojangles’ Fried Chicken & Biscuits is a regional fast food chain based out of Charlotte, North Carolina specializing in spicy “Cajun” style fried chicken and buttermilk biscuits. They are also well-known for their “fixin’s” such as Cajun-style pinto beans, dirty rice, seasoned French fries, and Southern sweet tea. Bojangles’ menu is actually not that different from the one at Popeyes Chicken & Biscuits, which happens to be one of my favorite places for spicy fried chicken. Unlike Popeyes which has locations in over 40 states, Bojangles’ locations are mainly in the southeastern part of the US.

bojangles1bojangles2

Since I was dining  solo at Bojangles’, I ordered one of the $5 Combos, which came with a buttermilk biscuit, one choice of fixin’ and a regular beverage. I chose the 1 Breast Combo ($5) since I’m a huge fan of white meat.  As part of the combo, I had a choice of fixin’ such as dirty rice, Cajun pintos, cole slaw, mac & cheese, mashed potatoes, green beans, grits, or seasoned fries. I chose the seasoned fries to see how they stack up with Popeyes’ Cajun fries. To be honest, I was actually a little disappointed in the chicken. It was served barely warm and definitely not as hot and fresh as it could be. The skin was not as crispy as I had hoped for. The one good thing was that the white meat was juicy, flavourful, and not dry. Being Cajun-style, the chicken was a little spicy but I could have used more heat.  The biscuit was nice and fluffy. Texture-wise, I thought the biscuit was better than the version that I’ve had from Popeyes in the past. However, I still thought the biscuit tasted rather commercial as it tasted like it came from a batter mix, which I’m sure it did. As for the seasoned fries, they were ok. They are a different style than the Cajun fries from Popeyes. They are a slightly thicker cut and hence, more potato-y in the center.

bojangles_dinner

Just two days earlier, I had visited a Popeyes location in the Atlanta area. I knew that there are many famous places in Atlanta for fried chicken. However, I decided to go for Popeyes anyways because it was getting late and I was exhausted from a long day of travelling. A Popeyes location happend to be close to the place where I was staying. Popeyes more than satisfied my fried chicken craving.  On this visit, my friend C and I shared their 9 Piece Mixed Chicken Special ($9.99). Even though it was way after 9pm at night, the chicken was hot and fresh.  We had ordered a few pieces of mild for my friend C and the rest spicy for me. While I’m sure that Popeyes chicken is far from being the best fried chicken ever on the planet (being a fast food chain and all), it is easily the best fried chicken I’ve had from a fast food joint. I’m actually pretty impressed that they have been fairly consistent all the times that I’ve been and I’ve visited several Popeyes locations across the US and eastern Canada. Perhaps, I’ve lucked out as I’ve read reviews about their chicken being dry. But all the times that I’ve been to date, Popeyes chicken has been well-seasoned and crispy on the outside while being moist and juicy on the inside. Based on these two visits, between Popeyes and Bojangles’, Popeyes is definitely the winner. I’d be willing to give Bojangles’ one more chance in the future to see if perhaps I just caught them on a bad day.

popeyes_chicken

Bojangles’ Fried Chicken & Biscuits
4040 Buford Dr
Buford, GA
(770) 945-4349

http://www.bojangles.com

Popeyes Fried Chicken & Biscuits
2767 Clairmont Rd
Atlanta, GA
(404)329-0156

http://popeyes.com

This entry was posted in American, Atlanta, eat, Georgia, Lunch and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

